Customer reviews for Bissell OptiClean® Bagged Canister

Bissell OptiClean® Bagged Canister

Multi-surface cleaning with variable suction control for versatile cleaning
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
Customer reviews for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Review 1 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Virginia,VA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Auto/Garage
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

OK vacuum

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Pros: good suction, Style, quiet, metal base on hard floor carpet tools adds to duality, multi suction levels to suit your cleaning needs.
Cons: dust bags are not hepa. Handle is cheap and uses friction to hold attachment. Does not offer a power nozzle-air or motor driven.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Virginia
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Auto/Garage
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Ok Vacuum for the price

PostedDecember 26, 2013
I purchased from my local Lowes store on clearance for $30. I use it to vacuum out my cars. I'd use it in my home but it doesn't have a power nozzle or offer a power nozzle for carpeting. They should offer HEPA dirt bags. I don't like how the hand nozzle attaches to the metal wand. It slips in and out. Nothing to hold it in place but friction. The canister unit is of sound design and quality of materials are good. I like the multi suction levels as well as suction control on the handle. Overall its a good vacuum for the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Parkville, MD, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Glad I have a bagged vacuum

PostedNovember 4, 2013
I'd looked for a bagged vacuum -- not easy to locate. Opticlean is a good looking vacuum with relatively good suction. However, because of black on black print in the user's guide, I had to phone for assistance as I couldn't discern the location of the parts as shown.
After four times of use, the power cord doesn't completely retract. Not a good track record! Also, separating the wand from the handle can be trying.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we're sorry for the trouble. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes. For repair with the power cord, please click at the link to find a local BISSELL center. You have a one year warranty with us. http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byunsatisfied customer
onNovember 20, 2013
Worst vacuum ever!!! Extremely disappointed... If you're looking to push dirt around your house, this is the vacuum for you.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Weston, Fl.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

I love this machine

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
This is the best vacuum cleaner I have ever had. The storage compartment for the tools is so convenient. It is easy to maneuver around and the swivel action of the floor attachment makes cleaning a snap. The telescoping wand is a life saver for someone on the shorter side. I can reach higher objects with ease. Changing attachements is very easy. I dont mind vacuuming now. My house is so clean. It is fantactic for cleaning up pet hair (2 dogs an 1 cat). I highly recommend this machine.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Maryland, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Decent machine but pricey bags

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Vacuum bag looks small and costs $4 each no matter how or where you buy them.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Hayesville, NC 28904, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

very pleased with this product

PostedJuly 26, 2013
This is my first tank vacuum and it is taking some time to get used to how to best pull it around. It is very quiet and the suction is very good. I like the ease of getting to the attachments and all the filters. My only complain is that I have a cat and the vacuum only balls the hair up, I have to remove the head and use the bare tube.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care July 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I have a cat also, and there maybe hair clogged up in the power head. We recommend checking this area for a clog for better suction.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: amsterdam, NY 12010
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Electrical Cord Retraction

PostedJuly 21, 2013
The electrical cord will not retract back into the canister. The handle and cleaning part of the vacuum are very heavy and difficult to maneuver around the house.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the trouble. Your machine has a warranty; for repair please click at the link to find a BISSELL location. http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lake Worth, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Very Good

PostedJune 15, 2013
We replaced the wall to wall carpeting with tile in part of our condo, about 650 square ft. We needed a canister vacuum for cleaning the tile. This unit does a nice job, is quiet, light weight, and very easy to use. The set up was easy and quick. The replacement bags and filters are easy to get from Bissell's web site. Have use it for about 30 days and love it.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ellenton, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

Great Features

PostedJune 14, 2013
I love that with one push button you can go from carpet to bare floors. Also lightweight and easy to move around. But the best feature is the extra long electrical cord, I don't have to unplug to do all my cleaning. Thank you for a great product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Scotland, CT, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor

Loving it !!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Have an old house with hardwood floors and area rugs. This vacuum has surpassed all prior canister I have ever owned. The volume of dirt it holds is amazing. Am worried about being able to find replacement bags locally, but with the capacity that these bags hold looks like it could be awhile before I have to worry about that. Thanks for a great product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Georgia, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Bissell are on the ball

PostedDecember 31, 2012
I ordered a Bissell OptiClean and spare vacuum bags some time ago. Since then I have received 2 emails from Bissell recommending accessories and asking me to review this product. I certainly will once it arrives!!
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 2, 2013
If your order is taking too long, please contact us at this link, so we can assist you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted bypjsmisslinda
onAugust 21, 2013
I agree that it is not fair to give one star to a vacuum you haven't actually tried. In doing so, you bring down the overall rating for those of us who need to know how the product functions. I don't think Diane's comment should be included in the rating.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byBBdame
onJanuary 16, 2013
I think it is unfair to give a one star rating when you haven't used it yet. For us serious shoppers, it is misleading.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 12 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Placentia, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Excellent Vacuum

PostedOctober 30, 2012
This is my third Bissell product. I ordered this on line, feeling quite confident, because of my previous experience with Bissell that I would like it. In my opinion, & I have many years of experience with vacuums since I am 81 is that it is an excellent value, & will give great service. That it has the variable speed ability, making it more versatile to clean different areas was an unexpected surprise. The design was well thought out & executed for ease of use & storage feature. The curved rod mentioned as a drawback in the previous review is very important, for without that you would have a rod sticking straight out like a stick & forcing you to use your hand in a very unnatural way to be able to vacuum . All in all, while it is a new product, I have tested the various features, comparing them to previous canister type products I have owned, & it far excedes the others. I was truly surprised to be able to have so much for such a relatively small amount. Blue ribbon to the Bissell designers.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OptiClean® Bagged Canister
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Red Oak, Tx
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Great for the money

PostedJuly 6, 2012
For the money, this is a very nice little vacuum for bare floors but not carpeting. I've only had it for a week, but I've used it enough to know that I like everything about it except for three minor issues. The hose is too short, the crevice tool is way too short, and the curved handle is awkward when trying to use the narrow, triangular dusting/upholstery brush. But these are all common complaints with most inexpensive vacuums. And it is quieter than most vacs, but not as quiet as one of those expensive German vacs.
+31points
35of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymartynaples
onMarch 18, 2013
I like the bissell opticlean for hard floors. It is less practical for carpets, as it does not pick up hair or fuzz easily. It is also very heavy and not lightweight at all.
It is good value for the price I payed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)