Customer reviews for Bissell PowerSwift Pet™ Compact

Bissell PowerSwift Pet™ Compact

Pet hair lifter and rotating brush remove dirt, pet dander and pet hair in one step!
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
Customer reviews for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Review 1 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar

To the end

PostedMay 30, 2014
great vacuum, took care of my roommate's cat hair. did great at picking up large chunks of hair with never a clog. only problem was doing my stairs with the hose. made it thru the last stroke and the roller brush on the actual vacuum (not hose) melted off. worked itself to death. worth the replacement part, but will this happen again??? has anyone else experienced this?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Make sure to keep the brush free of hair/debris to prevent damage. You can order the brush at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDisappointed Roxy
onJune 11, 2014
Love love love this vacuum, so easy for me to manage, lite weight, but had the exact same experience, 9 month old vacuum. will try to exchange it today at Kohl's. Very disappointed. Cannot replace the bush because it not only melted the rotation end of the roller bush it melted the screwed on cover holding it in place protecting it, and that part is not a listed part, need new vacuum. Darn it! I want another one but if I get one wont do stairs with it. Didnt quite finish the stairs had half a dozen to go!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: PA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Just got this product and I am pleased but also very disappointed

PostedMarch 6, 2014
This lightweight vacuum is powerful it seems but it isn't very allergy friendly, as it left behind fine dirt path on a very low nap carpet, and I'd only used it once. When I turned it over there was a clump of cat hair stuck to the underside so it didn't suck that up! I virtually had a mess trying to dislodge the upper parts to see if there was an inside sleeve sponge filter, which there wasn't! So even though I had only used it once, it was messy trying to dislodge the upper parts and to clean; took me half hour to wipe off the outside of the vacuum as all the dirt fell down on it, and to clean my floor around it afterward! The filtration system certainly could be better as well as detaching the upper chamber for cleaning....gonna try an upper sleeve filter to see if it helps, hopefully it will fit the basket thing somehow. Also disappointed in the fact that it doesn't have a longer hose or additional length attachments.
Should've bought a Hoover or Kenmore!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy Lisa Consumer Care March 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your trouble. It sounds as if there is a clog in your machine. Please remove the upholstery hose from the machine. With a broom stick push it through the hose to try to push any debris/hair that may be in the hose. You may want to remove the brush roller to ensure all the hair has been cleaned out. If your machine was missing a filter, please click at the link and we will send you one at no charge. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Mi
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Awesome product!!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Perfect price, light weight easy to push and cleans very well, bagless and great with picking up everything on first swipe, Love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Boston, MA,
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Very high pitched whistling sound

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
I just bought this vacuum a few months and I as soon as I vacuumed for the first time it made a very high pitched whistling sound. It has gotten worst every time I vacuumed, to the point were I am getting headaches. I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble. Perhaps there is a clog in your machine. Please check out the link for some tips to try. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Medford, OR, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

This product does just as it's advertised!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
The PowerSwift is good on carpet, wood floor, and upholstery! VERY good at picking up dog hair! I love it! I've recommended it to several people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Bend, OR, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

What a little jewel!!

PostedNovember 15, 2013
This is some powerful little vac. We thought we were clean and we were not. We used old vac first and went over same space, and had to empty canister after each room. Price, size and job this vac does all rate a 5 star from us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: San Diego, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Vaccum

PostedNovember 3, 2013
I like using the vaccum. It is a good vaccum. I like it because I have pets around the house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Columbus, Ohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Great vacuum for great price

PostedOctober 15, 2013
I used an old vacuum first and then went over the carpet again with my PowerSwift Pet Compact 13H8K and it picked up a decent amount of hair the other vacuum left behind. It is very light weight, easy to push and easy to clean. Great vacuum and it was very affordable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Colorado
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

'SMALL MACHINE...BIG POWER'

PostedOctober 2, 2013
I had an expensive vacuum, which worked great, but it was hard for me to handle and my back killed me every time I used it (I wanted something lighter that I could manage without straining my back). I saw this Bissell, lifted it and it felt light, plus, the price was right...and reading the ad, it was a pet hair lifter, so since I have a cat, I thought it would be a plus. Bottom line, I love it...it is light and easy to carry from room to room and I honestly couldn't believe what it picked up the first time I used it (I thought my expensive vacuum was doing a good job...wrong). So, yes, I would recommend it if one is looking for a light weight, do it all vacuum with the right price tag!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

easy to use & lightweight

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
I have 2 complaints: The hose is so short that when you are trying to reach up to dust a high shelf the whole machine tips over & the high sweeper profile does not allow for getting under beds, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. To ensure the machine doesn't tip, please move the vacuum closer to your cleaning area. To clean under beds, you may want to try a stick vac. BISSELL has many options, please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/stick-vacuum...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Boston, Ma
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Love it, but it's a bit loud

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
I was appalled at the dirt and hair that was vacuumed up from my "clean" carpet. The vacuum works wonders! I finally feel like my carpet is truly clean.
The only complaint I have is that it's very loud. When I use it, there is a high pitched whistling sound. I haven't had a chance to investigate its source, it could be an isolated event but if you want a quiet vacuum, you might want to look at a different model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Delavan,
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Great lightweight vacuum!

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Finally a vacuum that actually picks up pet fur! Also it's so lightweight my teenage daughter enjoys using it too!
Thanks Bissell for a great product, I am a vacuumaholic now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lexington, sc
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Small power

PostedJune 22, 2013
This little vacuum has lots of power, but it's not quite as versatile as I had hoped. Works great on hardwoods and furniture, but I have one rug that is a little tough, and it has a little problem getting everything up.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. We do have full size vacuums with height adjustments to suction on any type of floor levels. To view, click at the link:
http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacu...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Meridian, MS, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Powerhouse

PostedMarch 25, 2013
This little machine is a real powerhouse. We had a larger Bissell and moved to an RV full-time. I didn't want that big heavy vacuum and didn't have space for it. My husband found this one online and ordered it for me. What a fantastic value. This is a great vacuum no matter what the cost. It is lightweight and a hard worker. It really is better than the big one I had in my home. I attack the pet hair almost daily and have never been disappointed - it makes the hair disappear! I also use the attachments and find it easier than most to get it set up for hand tools. I would highly recommend this awesome product! Thank you BISSELL!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Plainville, CT
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

I think I like it

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
I just have one question...why does it blow air out of the front? It seems to pick up very well and I like that it is compact and has the pet tool (I have a cat). It is a little loud, but I have mostly hard wood and linoleum floors with only a few area rugs. I've never had a bagless before. My Oreck just fell apart after 8 years and it was too expensive to buy a new one, even with a trade in. I like the fact that this vacuum has the attachments right on it and I can use them when I need. Tonight is the second night I'm using it and I think I am very satisfied. Just need the answer to the blowing air out the front question. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 30, 2013
It is necessary to have the exhaust air blow out from the vacuum to keep the motor cool.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byHenry
onFebruary 23, 2014
I just used mine for the first time and assumed something was wrong with all the air blowing out the front. Thanks for asking the question, Trish. And thanks for answering it, Lisa.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byTrish
onJanuary 30, 2013
Thank you Lisa. Appreciate the information. I am really loving this vacuum.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 16 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Texas
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Light weight/easy to handle

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
This is a compact machine with alot of power. I'm a senior woman with limited flexibility. When it was time to replace my old Bissell I chose this one. I was not disappointed. As a pet owner It meets all my cleaning needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Easy to Use

PostedDecember 14, 2012
This is the best vacuum we have ever owned. We have two cats and like to clean often. I hated our old vacuum and it was so heavy I had to ask my husband to carry it upstairs. Well, now I can clean whenever I want and it's so easy to see the results. Never felt so inspired!!! And our rugs look great each time. Great product for the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Sonoma, CA.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

THE vacuum for pet owners!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
OK, I love it. We have two uprights and one canister vacuum and NONE of them can pick up the pet hair off my dog beds. I bought this vacuum on a whim specifically for pet hair. We have a yellow lab and a cat. Our dog beds are top quality beds but the covers are a microfiber and dog hair imbeds in them like needles. I spend a lot of time cleaning the hair off those beds and its never all gone. This vacuum is perfect for pet hair. The turbo attachment takes the hair off in one swipe. I am not kidding. I love everything about this vacuum. It is very light weight , has bagless esasy dump canister. The ease of going from floor suction to hose is perfect. I demonstrated it for my sons on Thanksgiving and they both picked up their ipads and ordered one. I love it so much I have a second one being delivered this week. Will keep it in box until this one dies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indiana, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

I've seen better

PostedOctober 16, 2012
I'm a very loyal Bissell Customer and is all that I will ever buy, because they last; With the exception of this vacuum, the Wheels are cheap, the belt always falls off and you have to take the wheels and stuff off to fix/ repair it, and our Wal Mart does not carry the belt for it. Every company has good and poor products and this is one of their poor ones. I've used a newer PowerForce Helix at work and picked up everything like a magnet and my Easy Vac that's 4 years old has been through the ringer and is still running. I got this from my grandma when she passed and I can't use it, because the belt always falls off. My next vacuum is going to be a Bissell Momentum, or Velocity, because it's similar to my Easy Vac.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareOctober 19, 2012
So sorry for all of your trouble. We have service centers that can inspect your machine. Here's a link to find one: http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...

I hope this helps you!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for PowerSwift Pet™ Compact
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ooltewah,
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

colossal product did what it advertised to do

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Purchasing Bissell Power groom compact pet was the best vacuum I have ever purchased. I definitely liked the fact that I didn't have to judge what type of carpet I was cleaning. I had so much dog hairs that I filled up a large store plastic bag, nothing we ever had before did this. Unfortunately I had to buy the floor model to get this vacuum and do not have the papers,book for this model.I would love to receive them. I like that I can look into the hose to see if it has any hairs stuck in the hose. I was recommended to go to a specific store to purchase said product, unfortunately none of them had any in stock and did not know when they were receiving the product. I like the fact it has a lint strip, which helps with hairs. You made my day when I vacuumed and felt majority of long white dog hairs were not on the carpet anymore. Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 >>>