Customer reviews for Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Lightweight and compact bagless vacuum!
Overall rating:
3.237 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(219 reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 219 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
24
1 Star
59
Customer reviews for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Review 21 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lexington, VA 24450, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Please don't buy

PostedAugust 26, 2014
I bought this vacuum in the month of April 2014. in five months wheels are starting to fall off.I noticed that the wheels are made of flimsy plastic and the they have practically worn off. I have used this product to just vacuum two door mats on a daily basis.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Austin, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Don't waste your money!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
The base has stopped suctioning after only 3 months of use! It is just terrible! Even when it worked, it circled a lot of dirt around it. It is too loud too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care August 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble with your machine. We can help with some easy tips to get your machine to suction again. Please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar

not recommend

PostedAugust 11, 2014
I would not recommend this product unless you are using it for hardwood floors, tile. When trying to use it on carpet it is too light weight and does not work at all. Very difficult trying to push it on carpet. Between my family members and I we have 6 other bissels that we love--not sure what they were thinking with this one :(
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Texas
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Bad investment

PostedJuly 28, 2014
The bissell powerforce compact is by far one of the worst vacuums to purchase. No quality in this product and bad design. Brushes barley pick anything up. Also don't bother to purchase if you own a dog. Not even able to pick dog hair up.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Upstate, SC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

This vac doesn't suck!

PostedJuly 4, 2014
The only positive thing that I can say about this vacuum is that I never had to empty the dirt cup. This is, of course, because it leaves everything on the floor.
The machine is very poorly designed. I should have taken it back the day that I bought it, but I got too busy and forgot about it.
I pulled it out again today and decided to trash at this point. Had it for 62 days, used it three times and had to pull out a better vacuum to clean up afterward everytime
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care July 7, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for the no suction. To make sure you have good airflow, please remove the upholstery hose to check for any hair/debris. You can push out any clogs using a broom stick handle. Also, the filters must be clean for good suction. The foam filters can be hand washed in warm tap water and mild soap. They need to be completly dry before reusing. If still no suction, you do have a one year warranty. For a BISSELL service center location, see this link to search: http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySal C.
onJuly 12, 2014
Had the same problem and it was a simple fix. The dirt canister wasn't seated properly and didn't allow for good suction. Remove it and make sure you put it back on properly with no air leaks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 26 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Jacksonville
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Belt Problems

PostedJune 20, 2014
I've had to replace the belt on this vacuum 3 times in the past year. That just seems like a little much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 23, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the difficulty with the belt; this seems like a lot of belts to go through. Make sure the brush and belt area are free of hair to prevent damage. You can get your machine inspected at a local BISSELL service center. Locations can be searched at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Redding, CT, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Vacuum is not good.

PostedJune 9, 2014
I bought the compact vacuum to save space and money since it was bagless. I was a bit hesitant because it looked and felt similar to a toy vacuum. It worked a few times and then it started blowing the dirt back on the floor. I have emptied the debris cup, cleared the hoses and cleaned any and all brushes to no avail. It picks up sometimes but that is rare. Even though I vacuum my carpet a few times a week, most of my rooms with carpet look as if I never vacuumed at all. It has been like this since I bought it a year ago. This vacuum needs to go back to the product development team for a redesign. It states surface type for carpet, upholstery and bare floors. Umm, interesting, perhaps small rugs and even the upholstery since you would need to use the attachments. This vacuum does not work and is a waste of money. I do not recommend this vacuum. It is going in the trash since I just bought a new vacuum that works. I probably should have returned the compact vacuum to the store when I bought it a year ago. Save your frustration and do not buy this vacuum at all. Simply terrible. I usually do not leave review but this is the worse vacuum I have used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Augusta, GA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Never Again!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Bought this vacuum thinking I was saving time, money, and hassle. Instead this thing has been nothing but a little nightmare. It no longer picks up dirt after 6 months of use. You have to clean it with every use and it's ridiculous on the amount of time I've wasted trying to find a filter for it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 5, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for your trouble. What you described must be debris somewhere that has been missed. This is why it continues to clog. We recommend taking the hose off, and stick a broom stick through to push any hair through. Also, remove the access panel and brush to check for clogs in the foot of the hose. Make sure the filters are clean; if they are not this can restrict airflow too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJasmine37
onJuly 2, 2014
I am 76yrs I love this vacuume it is lightweight and powerful the only minus is the cord wish it was longer .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 29 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Mount Carmel, IL, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Would give negative stars if i could

PostedMay 29, 2014
Had ours for about 4 months. Only 2 rooms is house have carpet. we clean it often and remove any debris from brush every couple weeks. It started making a strange noise and burnt through the belt. when I removed brush center shaft came out leaving outer brush and endcap in my hand. i cant see paying 1/3 of what i paid for vacuum to pay for a new brush. If this many people are having the same issue its a design flaw not brush neglect. cheap isnt always best way to go
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for your trouble. We will happy to send a belt and brush to you. Please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/ As a friendly reminder make sure to keep the brush roller free of hair/debris.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMARYSOL
onJune 6, 2014
THIS IS PRETTY MUCH THE SAME THING THAT HAPPENED TO MINE. IT STARTED SMELLING BURNT AND THEN THE BRUSH BROKE OFF. I JUST BOUGHT THIS THING AT THE END OF JANUARY. OTHER WISE IT DOES CLEAN GOOD.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 30 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Baltimore, MD
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female

Not accessible to ceilings

PostedMay 27, 2014
Without an extension tube, there's no way you can use this vacuum to reach ceiling corners. The packaging said it had on board tools, had I know it couldn't reach ceilings, I would have never bought it. Mindless that Bissell didn't think to add a cheap piece of plastic tube to extend the reach. Disappointed to say the least.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaBissell Consumer CareMay 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes. BISSELL's full size vacuums have an extension wand. To view, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacu...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

gets no suction and always clogs

PostedApril 30, 2014
ive cleaned it out goooood the filters and hose everything it still don't pick up anything it sucks sooo bad.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care May 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the no suction. If all the troubleshooting has been attemted, we recommend taking your machine to a local BISSELL service center for inspection. Your machine includes a limited one year warranty. Locations can be searched at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted byTess31
onMay 31, 2014
Bought this vac about 2 months ago. Used maybe 3 times and now it doesn't work properly. Acts as though it is picking up but somehow the dirt ends up back on the floor.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byTami
onMay 24, 2014
I also have a problem getting it back together. I liked it when I first got it, but not anymore. Thankfully, I still have my large, powerful Bissell. I bought the lightweight one because of Arthritis in my hands and only have an area rug to vacuum. It's not even a year old.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byunhappy
onMay 16, 2014
I can't make get the holding tank to stay together. I have got it together one time and as I vacuum with it the tank and cup separates. I didn't keep the receipt and cannot take it back. Is there a trick to keeping it together.
AJ in AZ
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 32 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Las Cruces, NM, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Horrible

PostedApril 28, 2014
Doesn't pick up dirt like it's supposed to, bought it back in February and 2 months later it has lost its suction! Would never buy again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytbrad
onJune 7, 2014
I bought the compact vacuum to save space and money since it was bagless. I was a bit hesitant because it looked and felt similar to a toy vacuum. It worked a few times and then it started blowing the dirt back on the floor. I have emptied the debris cup, cleared the hoses and cleaned any and all brushes to no avail. It picks up sometimes but that is rare. Even though I vacuum my carpet a few times a week, most of my rooms with carpet look as if I never vacuumed at all. It has been like this since I bought it a year ago. This vacuum needs to go back to the product development team for a redesign. It states surface type for carpet, upholstery and bare floors. Umm, interesting, perhaps small rugs and even the upholstery since you would need to use the attachments. This vacuum does not work and is a waste of money. I do not recommend this vacuum. It is going in the trash since I just bought a new vacuum that works. I probably should have returned the compact vacuum to the store when I bought it a year ago. Save your frustration and do not buy this vacuum at all. Simply terrible. I usually do not leave review but this is the worse vacuum I have used.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 33 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Allergen Control

Disappointed

PostedApril 23, 2014
I have bought at least 4 Bissell within past 3 years. I don't know why I keep buying them. The same problem occurred with all 4. The belt broke because the brush wouldn't want to move anymore and it seems to be the parts at the end of brush that's been the problem with all 4. I had only had the last one for 2 months before it broke down on me, VERY FRUSTRATING AND DISSAPOINTING to say the least. I hope you guys get this problem worked out. I have bought them because they were cheap, but cheap isn't always good. I however will not be purchasing a Bisselle ever again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Toledo,Ohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

very disappointed

PostedApril 16, 2014
I bought the powerforce compact vacuum and I'm very upset!! It worked great the first few months. The belt broke I put a new one on and the brush won't turn. It's very very loud and smells like it's burning up. I will Never buy another one again. I'm thinking maybe I should just go to another brand all together. I really would like it replaced with a different model for the trouble it's caused me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareMay 20, 2014
TRose, there is probably an easy fix for you. It sounds like the brushroll seized up, which can happen from having long hair, string or debris wrapped around it. It will keep breaking belts until it is replaced. Here is a link to get the brushroll: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...

It is always a good idea when you are finished and unplugged to make sure you check your brushroll for any build up of hair, string, or debris and remove it. I hope this helps.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: LaGrange, GA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

A poor purchase

PostedMarch 26, 2014
We have an art gallery, so there's not a lot of vacuuming to be done. We assumed this little vacuum would suit our needs. After the first use, we cleaned the filter and hoses only to find that the vacuum had lost all suction. We had followed all of the tips very carefully to make sure the filters and hoses were clean, that the brush was turning and that everything was in place properly. We used this vacuum ONE time before it became useless. We wasted our money. We are extremely disappointed, and just threw it away. It's very frustrating.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 31, 2014
Thank you for you review; we're sorry for the trouble. If all the troubleshooting was completed, please see the link for warranty coverage.
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Konawa, OK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Don't buy it!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
I have a Bissell at home (not bagless) and I love it. However, this one works fine as long as you clean out all the filters after every use (which is a pain). I have noticed, that after vacuuming, if you tip the vacuum, dirt will fall out the bottom.
I want a Bissell with a bag. :)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy Lisa Consumer Care February 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. It sounds as if there is restricted airflow with your machine. We can help! Please check out the link for some easy tips to get your machine working properly. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byUs two
onSeptember 24, 2014
Wife and I bought this vacuum cleaner and it does a good job cleaning. I too noticed air from the dirt canister. But the BIGGEST problem is that it has a loud screech to it. It is almost ear piercing. It acts like it is drawing air from one of the filters or a canister is not air tight. I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO GET RID OF THE NOISE. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE SEALS AROUND THE CANISTERS ARE NOT TIGHT...........
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 37 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Knoxville, TN, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

powerforce compact vacuum

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
this is the worst vacuum i have ever owned. this is also the same vacuum we have at my employer. it does not have any power and does not have any suction. you can not even vacuum up a string. every time you use it, you have to sit down on the floor, take it apart and dig out of the hose what you just attempted to vacuum because it clogs, just simple things it will not pick up. i would not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the no suction. There are some easy tips at the link to get your machine working properly. Please check it out. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: United States wi
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

poor vacuum

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Low quality vacuum which broke several times - repairs are expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry for your difficulty. For warranty coverage, please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: MI.
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

WASTSE OF MONEY

PostedNovember 29, 2013
I purchased this vacuum, cause I needed a new one and it was convenient. This vacuum only worked for a month before I had to replace the belt twice. Then I had to replace the parts on the vacuum. I was very upset and disgusted with the POOR QUALITY of this vacuum. I only had for a month before it began to break down. Getting the parts replaced and everything else regarding this vacuum was a hassle. So this is the 3rd vacuum and I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING ANY OTHER BISSELL PRODUCTS EVER AGAIN. I just purchased a Eureka vac.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your trouble. You do have a one year warranty with BISSELL. Please check out the link to locate a BISSELL Authorized Service Center. http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: NC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Very disappointed. Did not clean very well.

PostedNovember 29, 2013
I have always bought Bisell vacuums in the past so I didn't hesitate to buy model # 23t7v. It let me down since it did not clean very well. It kept blowing dust everywhere. I could not get it to seal properly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. No worries, we have some great tips to share to get your machine suctioning again. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>