Customer reviews for Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Lightweight and compact bagless vacuum!
Overall rating:
3.491 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 167 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
18
1 Star
35
Customer reviews for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Review 21 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Spokane, WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Great for first few weeks, now its loud

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
I bought this almost 5 weeks ago, it had been working just great. I was using it yesterday and all of a sudden it was making loud noise and smelled like something was burning. I shut it off, checked belt and every hose for clogs, there are no strings or anything around the brush. I have no idea what the heck happened, and I was using the hose when it happened. Very dissapointed. I have my receipt I guess I will take it back to Walmart and keep my fingers crossed, always seem to have terrible time returning things at walmart!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble. There is no need to take your machine back. You have a warranty with BISSELL. Please click at the link for assistance. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Doesnt even turn on!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Just bought this vacuum from Walmart, took it out of the box and the vacuum doesn't turn on! Very frustrated with this product as I live on the 3rd floor of an apartment and not looking forward to hauling the open box and vacuum down the stairs to return it!!! VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care September 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for the trouble. We can help you, so you don't have to bother taking your machine back. Please click at this link:
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Waste of money

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Week after purchasing the vacuum it stopped working. Checked everything and nothing was broken. When it vacuums something up it spits it out the back hole. Very unhappy!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareSeptember 6, 2013
Oneida, there is a quick and easy fix. Insert the end of your upholstery hose into the hole on the back. That should take care of it for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Winchester, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

junk

PostedJune 29, 2013
I just baught this thing was like wow it works awesome two days later poof it just stops working no power at all .......... what the heck??? seriously cheep is great it worked great but having it just up and not work at all no warning nothing no clog no broken belt just dead ....... not cool
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for the trouble. Please click at the link, so we can help with warranty. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor

Not worth the monay

PostedJune 27, 2013
I purchased this appliance when my other vacuum cleaner broke. To say the least, it is a waste of money. The hose does not work, PERIOD, and the belt broke the first time I used it. I have cleaned the vacuum and checked for clogs and everything is all good. It being lightweight must have come with a price because this vacuum cleaner is completely useless. More time should have been spent on developing an appliance that actually works as it is advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be happy to send you a belt, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/ Also, to clean the hose; remove it from the machine. Please take a broom stick and run it through the hose to push any hair through causing no suction.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byPennsick06
onJuly 11, 2013
I am VERY pleased with my PowerForce Compact Vacuum 23T7V! I've had my vac for almost a year if not a year. I vacuum my apartment carpet, throw rugs in bathroom & kitchen as well as the bare floors in bathroom & kitchen! You have to be careful vacuuming the throw rugs because the edges of the rugs get pulled in the vacuum by the brush which causes a strain on the belt and can jam the unit. Other than that it does an excellent job! I have ordered 2 extra filters because I have washed my original one several times already and didn't want to need a new one and not have it available. I need to replace the handle you are told not to pick up the unit by because it comes out while I vacuum. I don't see that part as being available for purchase. I believe I paid a good price for the unit and it is well worth it! (the only negative comment I have is for your company to look into redesigning the handle you hold to vacuum so it doesn't come out so easy)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 26 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Lost suction within 30 min of FIRST use!

PostedApril 13, 2013
I simply can't believe it but it's true! Just bought this vacuum cleaner today for my 1,400 sq. ft. house which is only about 900 sf of carpet of carpet. So the first 15-20 min. was great and I'm thinking "WOW - nice suction and NO mess to dump the cup" unlike my Eureka which had cyclone filter inside dirt canister that was AWFUL to clean every time I had to dump the cup!. I have a *very* short shag cut carpet throughout and cream-colored berber in bedroom. I get to the berber and notice that vacuum cleaner is just pushing the debris around on the carpet. Pulled the hose off to feel suction and NOTHING. Turned it over and brush was spinning, nothing stuck, clogged, etc. Just no suction. And that's all it's doing now so it's BACK to the store to dump it off and get a Dirt Devil, which has always been a great product for me!. This is an AWFUL, CHEAPLY-MADE product!!! Unbelievable!!!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareApril 15, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. The Powerforce compact vacuum is for light pick up; it sounds as if there may be hair/debris clogging your machine. Please remove the hose, and run a broom stick handle through the hose to see if any clogs can be remove. Also, there may be hair in the foot hose. Hopefully this will help you out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Portal, GA 30450, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Worst Vacuum Ever!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I bought this vacuum back in November, because I needed something to get by with temporarily until I get rid of my carpet. My previous vacuum that was broken and billowing smoke picked up more dirt and cheerios than this vacuum. I vacuum my living room and have barely anything in the cup afterwards, because it didn't pick it up off the floor. Save your money! Find a different vacuum! I wish I could get my money back, because I ended up with a lemon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 1, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. For no suction, please make sure the brush is still rotating. Also, you may want to remove the hose from the machine to check for a clog. If hair is found this would restrict airflow. You can take a broom stick down in the hose, and push any debris that may be causing the no suction. We hope this helps you out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: California, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

i mustve got a faulty one

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
I live in a small 600 sq ft apt and unfortunately my pink bissell doesnt get the job done. I got the vaccuum in september and have used it less than 5 times. Each time im sweeping after i vaccuum. I read the reviews and it seems im the only one with a problem vaccuum
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareFebruary 21, 2013
Please check the brush to ensure it is rotating. Also, check the hoses for any hair that maybe restricting airflow causing no suction.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Edmond, OK, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Junk

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
I bought this because my old vacuum wore out and it had decent reviews. The first time I tried to clean the filter (the first day, because it wasn't picking anything up), the tabs that hold it in broke. It simply does not pick anything up. It makes a lot of noise and pushes things around the floor, leaving everything behind. Nothing gets past the hose, but it does manage to throw lots of dust in to the air and give my wife asthma attacks. I will be replacing it very soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 23, 2013
You have a one year warranty with your machine. We can send the part you need with the model and serial number. Please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/. Make sure the filters are clean for good airflow with your machine. It sounds as if there is hair/debris stuck in the lower hose. If you lay the machine flat with the upholstery hose removed you may see a clog in this area. Also, if the upholstery hose has no suction, we recommend checking for clogs there too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar

Not worth it

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
I purchased it 4 months back. So far I've changed the belt 5 times. Finally realized the brush is also not working.
I ended by buying different one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 22, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. Make sure to keep the brush and belt area free of hair to prevent damage. There is a link to a video that shows how to change the belt. http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video....
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Stone Creek, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Must have been made for a child

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
My husband got this little vaccum for me for xmas after i told him months before i didn't want one. Any way i have used it because we gave away my other one. This vaccuum is to small, it doesn't have good suction and the canister keeps falling out, it won't lock in place. I love Bissell products, but this one is their worse.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 16, 2013
We are sorry you are unhappy with your machine. Make sure the dirt cup lock is connected properly to secure the cup. If this isn't locked correctly you will have reduced suction. To view full size vacuums, please click at the link http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacu... ?icid=ccrr.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar

Cheap Parts

PostedDecember 26, 2012
I have used this max for 10 times to vaccum my apartment. It broke its belt while in use. I am highly disappointed with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry the belt broke. Please click at the link so we can assist you further. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Michigan
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Dont waste your money

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
You certainly get what you pay for. I just moved into a new home, got a new vaccume for our new home, and it is horrible. It does not suck hardly anything up, you have to go over the stuff three or four times, and I find that I have to empty it twice before I am finished vacumming my living room. Yes I do have children, however, we do not wear our shoes in the house, and so I cant imagine why it would be this difficult for a brand new vaccumme to clean my carpet in one room only ( the only room there is carpet in). I have had this for one month, and the belt has already broken. Yes it is lightweight, however, I believe because it is so lightweight it is a cheaper version of their better vaccum modles. Dont waste your moeny, spend the extra to get a better vaccum, in the end thats what we are going to do , and be out our 40.00 we spent on this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareOctober 4, 2012
Sorry to hear. Check to see if your belt is broken, or if there is a clog in the upper or lower hose.

This simple video shows a basic belt replacement:
http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...

Here is a quick video to help clear a clog:
http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: JACKSONVILLE , FL
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

debit product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
IT PICKS UP GREAT BUT IT DOESN'T HAVE AN UPHOLSTERY BRUSH. AND YOU CAN'T EVEN ORDER ONE(OUT OF STOCK)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareAugust 24, 2012
Waly, your model may not come with the one brush. If you would like one we will gladly send one out to you. Please contact us at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Thanks for your review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Independence, MO, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Auto/Garage
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

False information on box

PostedAugust 15, 2012
I needed a vacuum that I could haul around easily and I needed the crevice tool and brush for my garage. I bought this product because it showed on the box both tools that I needed and the box stated that it comes with on-board tools...notice the plural form? Now I found out that it only comes with the crevice tool and not the brush. Why state that it comes with on-board tools when it only comes with one tool?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareAugust 20, 2012
Brian, we are so sorry you didn't get that on-board tool. It comes with the black and teal model, but not the purple, pink, and blue ones. We've emailed you for your contact information so we can send you the brush.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byjulie62
onAugust 23, 2012
I did not get the brush in the box either. I have the 23T7-M model. I am not too happy with this product. I saw the brush in the pamphlet also. Plus the brush roller is not adjustable. This was an unpleasant surprise.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byGerry
onAugust 17, 2012
Wow! Only 1 star because it did not have a little brush???
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 36 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Selkirk, NY 12158, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Terrible

PostedJune 28, 2014
This vacuum does a terrible job in picking up dirt. The hose is not flexible enough and the cord is too short. The vacuum is heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 30, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. The suction will be reduced if the filters need to be cleaned. The foam filters can be rinsed in warm tap water and mild soap. Make sure they are completely dry before reusing. Also, to check for a clog in the house, detached from the machine and by sticking a broom stick in the hose this will push out any hair that would be stopping the suction. BISSELL has many options for a vacuum. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacu...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDiane
onJuly 16, 2014
This comment looks like a "cut and paste" response to a "no suction problem". It is wonderful that Bissell gives helpful feedback to any of the negative product comments. I also noticed that a customer gave another trick to check on suction problems. Perhaps Bissell might consider adding it to their standard response to fixing such problems. I have copied it below for reference.
Thanks for all the great follow up I see. It encourages me to buy Bissell. I am "window shopping" on-line for my own Bissell too. ~ Diane
Posted By Sal C. onJuly 12, 2014
Had the same problem and it was a simple fix. The dirt canister wasn't seated properly and didn't allow for good suction. Remove it and make sure you put it back on properly with no air leaks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 37 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New York, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

It was going so well...

PostedApril 14, 2014
well...I got 1 yr of use out of this. It was good while it lasted. I purchased the belts to replace them and then I noticed that the brush doesn't rotate anymore...that's not right. I put the belt in the right way and when I turned it on it was the sound of burnt rubber (there goes the $2.99 belt). I don't know if I care enough to even take this to someone to fix it...It would probably be cheaper to buy something that will last at least 2 years...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 18, 2014
OK, if the brush seized up it would keep breaking belts because it needs to be replaced. The brush can seize up if you get hair or debris wrapped around it. It is a good idea to inspect it and clean it regularly after you finish and unplug your vacuum. Here is a link to the brush for your PowerForce Compact: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Madison, WI
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Noisy vacuum after a year

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Mine worked just fine until a year then it started making lot of noise with less suction. Tried cleaning filters etc without gain. Throwed this and got a new one. Just works fine upto warranty period - no guarantee of working after a year .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the trouble with your last vacuum. If you ever have difficulty, we can help at this link: http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Oak Island, NC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Was happy at first.......

PostedMarch 15, 2014
After just under a year of using this vacuum I am so unhappy and frustrated with it I want to throw it out a window. The power does not stand up to my 3 kids but even that was ok. Now ever single time I use it the wheels fall off. I don't mean once or twice. I mean they fall off 40 times in the course of 2 rooms. It has gotten out of hand and therefore I will be way more selective when I buy another vacuum from any company. Does anyone else have this problem????
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: california,mo
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

hard to find replacement filters at the store

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
You can find plenty of the vacuums at the store (walmart) however finding a replacement filter is the problem! and it doesn't tell you what size like 8,9,10 ect on the filter that comes with the machine. amazon sells several however its trying to decide which is the right one??????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 30, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. If your local Walmart doesn't have the filters in stock. You can order the pre and post motor filter at this link: http://www.bissell.com/search.aspx?...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 >>>