Customer reviews for Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Lightweight and compact bagless vacuum!
Overall rating:
3.361 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(202 reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 202 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
22
1 Star
48
Customer reviews for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Review 21 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Las Cruces, NM, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Horrible

PostedApril 28, 2014
Doesn't pick up dirt like it's supposed to, bought it back in February and 2 months later it has lost its suction! Would never buy again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytbrad
onJune 7, 2014
I bought the compact vacuum to save space and money since it was bagless. I was a bit hesitant because it looked and felt similar to a toy vacuum. It worked a few times and then it started blowing the dirt back on the floor. I have emptied the debris cup, cleared the hoses and cleaned any and all brushes to no avail. It picks up sometimes but that is rare. Even though I vacuum my carpet a few times a week, most of my rooms with carpet look as if I never vacuumed at all. It has been like this since I bought it a year ago. This vacuum needs to go back to the product development team for a redesign. It states surface type for carpet, upholstery and bare floors. Umm, interesting, perhaps small rugs and even the upholstery since you would need to use the attachments. This vacuum does not work and is a waste of money. I do not recommend this vacuum. It is going in the trash since I just bought a new vacuum that works. I probably should have returned the compact vacuum to the store when I bought it a year ago. Save your frustration and do not buy this vacuum at all. Simply terrible. I usually do not leave review but this is the worse vacuum I have used.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 22 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Allergen Control

Disappointed

PostedApril 23, 2014
I have bought at least 4 Bissell within past 3 years. I don't know why I keep buying them. The same problem occurred with all 4. The belt broke because the brush wouldn't want to move anymore and it seems to be the parts at the end of brush that's been the problem with all 4. I had only had the last one for 2 months before it broke down on me, VERY FRUSTRATING AND DISSAPOINTING to say the least. I hope you guys get this problem worked out. I have bought them because they were cheap, but cheap isn't always good. I however will not be purchasing a Bisselle ever again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Toledo,Ohio
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

very disappointed

PostedApril 16, 2014
I bought the powerforce compact vacuum and I'm very upset!! It worked great the first few months. The belt broke I put a new one on and the brush won't turn. It's very very loud and smells like it's burning up. I will Never buy another one again. I'm thinking maybe I should just go to another brand all together. I really would like it replaced with a different model for the trouble it's caused me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareMay 20, 2014
TRose, there is probably an easy fix for you. It sounds like the brushroll seized up, which can happen from having long hair, string or debris wrapped around it. It will keep breaking belts until it is replaced. Here is a link to get the brushroll: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...

It is always a good idea when you are finished and unplugged to make sure you check your brushroll for any build up of hair, string, or debris and remove it. I hope this helps.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: LaGrange, GA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

A poor purchase

PostedMarch 26, 2014
We have an art gallery, so there's not a lot of vacuuming to be done. We assumed this little vacuum would suit our needs. After the first use, we cleaned the filter and hoses only to find that the vacuum had lost all suction. We had followed all of the tips very carefully to make sure the filters and hoses were clean, that the brush was turning and that everything was in place properly. We used this vacuum ONE time before it became useless. We wasted our money. We are extremely disappointed, and just threw it away. It's very frustrating.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 31, 2014
Thank you for you review; we're sorry for the trouble. If all the troubleshooting was completed, please see the link for warranty coverage.
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Konawa, OK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Don't buy it!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
I have a Bissell at home (not bagless) and I love it. However, this one works fine as long as you clean out all the filters after every use (which is a pain). I have noticed, that after vacuuming, if you tip the vacuum, dirt will fall out the bottom.
I want a Bissell with a bag. :)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy Lisa Consumer Care February 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. It sounds as if there is restricted airflow with your machine. We can help! Please check out the link for some easy tips to get your machine working properly. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byUs two
onSeptember 24, 2014
Wife and I bought this vacuum cleaner and it does a good job cleaning. I too noticed air from the dirt canister. But the BIGGEST problem is that it has a loud screech to it. It is almost ear piercing. It acts like it is drawing air from one of the filters or a canister is not air tight. I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO GET RID OF THE NOISE. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE SEALS AROUND THE CANISTERS ARE NOT TIGHT...........
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 26 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Knoxville, TN, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

powerforce compact vacuum

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
this is the worst vacuum i have ever owned. this is also the same vacuum we have at my employer. it does not have any power and does not have any suction. you can not even vacuum up a string. every time you use it, you have to sit down on the floor, take it apart and dig out of the hose what you just attempted to vacuum because it clogs, just simple things it will not pick up. i would not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the no suction. There are some easy tips at the link to get your machine working properly. Please check it out. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: United States wi
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

poor vacuum

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Low quality vacuum which broke several times - repairs are expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry for your difficulty. For warranty coverage, please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: MI.
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

WASTSE OF MONEY

PostedNovember 29, 2013
I purchased this vacuum, cause I needed a new one and it was convenient. This vacuum only worked for a month before I had to replace the belt twice. Then I had to replace the parts on the vacuum. I was very upset and disgusted with the POOR QUALITY of this vacuum. I only had for a month before it began to break down. Getting the parts replaced and everything else regarding this vacuum was a hassle. So this is the 3rd vacuum and I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING ANY OTHER BISSELL PRODUCTS EVER AGAIN. I just purchased a Eureka vac.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your trouble. You do have a one year warranty with BISSELL. Please check out the link to locate a BISSELL Authorized Service Center. http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: NC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Very disappointed. Did not clean very well.

PostedNovember 29, 2013
I have always bought Bisell vacuums in the past so I didn't hesitate to buy model # 23t7v. It let me down since it did not clean very well. It kept blowing dust everywhere. I could not get it to seal properly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. No worries, we have some great tips to share to get your machine suctioning again. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Frederick, MD
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

This product is a waste of money.

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Bought this vacuum for our daughter for her college apartment in September, by October it wasn't working. It was used only 3 - 4 times. It has great suction, picks up better than any vacuum I've ever seen. When it works. We knew we weren't getting a high quality vacuum but we thought it would at least last out the school year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care November 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback; we're sorry for the trouble. Please check out the link for our easy tips to get your daughter's vacuum working again.
http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Florida, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Never worked

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Purchased the product on-line through major retailor. Never had power out of the box. Bissell has been no help. Would not recommend this or any other product of Bissell based on their poor customer service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments; and we are sorry for the no power. You do have a one year warranty with BISSELL. Please click at the link, so we can better assist you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Leesburg Florida
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Disappointed

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Low suction power. Hose to short. Cheap plastic wheels mark my laminate flooring. Don't like it at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. We're sorry you are disappointed with your Powerforce vacuum. For the best airflow make sure to keep the filters clean; dirty filters do restrict airflow. For the marks on your floor, please click at the link so we may better assist you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Back woods of Maine
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Doesn't suck, that's the problem

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Worst vacuumed I've ever encountered, it has no suction and is extremely loud. You'd think for all that noise it would do something! It works ok on carpets because it has a a super fast brush on the bottom, but on floor surfaces, all that happens is that those brushes just hurl stones at your feet and walls at hurricane force. Not good for non carpeted surfaces!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback; we're sorry for your disappointment. The vacuum is for light pick up on bare floors. You may be happier with a vacuum that has an on/off switch for the brush. Or a stick vac may be a better choice for you. To view, click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/stick-vacuum...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Spokane, WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Great for first few weeks, now its loud

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
I bought this almost 5 weeks ago, it had been working just great. I was using it yesterday and all of a sudden it was making loud noise and smelled like something was burning. I shut it off, checked belt and every hose for clogs, there are no strings or anything around the brush. I have no idea what the heck happened, and I was using the hose when it happened. Very dissapointed. I have my receipt I guess I will take it back to Walmart and keep my fingers crossed, always seem to have terrible time returning things at walmart!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble. There is no need to take your machine back. You have a warranty with BISSELL. Please click at the link for assistance. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Doesnt even turn on!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Just bought this vacuum from Walmart, took it out of the box and the vacuum doesn't turn on! Very frustrated with this product as I live on the 3rd floor of an apartment and not looking forward to hauling the open box and vacuum down the stairs to return it!!! VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care September 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for the trouble. We can help you, so you don't have to bother taking your machine back. Please click at this link:
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Waste of money

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Week after purchasing the vacuum it stopped working. Checked everything and nothing was broken. When it vacuums something up it spits it out the back hole. Very unhappy!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareSeptember 6, 2013
Oneida, there is a quick and easy fix. Insert the end of your upholstery hose into the hole on the back. That should take care of it for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Winchester, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

junk

PostedJune 29, 2013
I just baught this thing was like wow it works awesome two days later poof it just stops working no power at all .......... what the heck??? seriously cheep is great it worked great but having it just up and not work at all no warning nothing no clog no broken belt just dead ....... not cool
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for the trouble. Please click at the link, so we can help with warranty. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor

Not worth the monay

PostedJune 27, 2013
I purchased this appliance when my other vacuum cleaner broke. To say the least, it is a waste of money. The hose does not work, PERIOD, and the belt broke the first time I used it. I have cleaned the vacuum and checked for clogs and everything is all good. It being lightweight must have come with a price because this vacuum cleaner is completely useless. More time should have been spent on developing an appliance that actually works as it is advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be happy to send you a belt, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/ Also, to clean the hose; remove it from the machine. Please take a broom stick and run it through the hose to push any hair through causing no suction.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byPennsick06
onJuly 11, 2013
I am VERY pleased with my PowerForce Compact Vacuum 23T7V! I've had my vac for almost a year if not a year. I vacuum my apartment carpet, throw rugs in bathroom & kitchen as well as the bare floors in bathroom & kitchen! You have to be careful vacuuming the throw rugs because the edges of the rugs get pulled in the vacuum by the brush which causes a strain on the belt and can jam the unit. Other than that it does an excellent job! I have ordered 2 extra filters because I have washed my original one several times already and didn't want to need a new one and not have it available. I need to replace the handle you are told not to pick up the unit by because it comes out while I vacuum. I don't see that part as being available for purchase. I believe I paid a good price for the unit and it is well worth it! (the only negative comment I have is for your company to look into redesigning the handle you hold to vacuum so it doesn't come out so easy)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 39 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Lost suction within 30 min of FIRST use!

PostedApril 13, 2013
I simply can't believe it but it's true! Just bought this vacuum cleaner today for my 1,400 sq. ft. house which is only about 900 sf of carpet of carpet. So the first 15-20 min. was great and I'm thinking "WOW - nice suction and NO mess to dump the cup" unlike my Eureka which had cyclone filter inside dirt canister that was AWFUL to clean every time I had to dump the cup!. I have a *very* short shag cut carpet throughout and cream-colored berber in bedroom. I get to the berber and notice that vacuum cleaner is just pushing the debris around on the carpet. Pulled the hose off to feel suction and NOTHING. Turned it over and brush was spinning, nothing stuck, clogged, etc. Just no suction. And that's all it's doing now so it's BACK to the store to dump it off and get a Dirt Devil, which has always been a great product for me!. This is an AWFUL, CHEAPLY-MADE product!!! Unbelievable!!!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareApril 15, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. The Powerforce compact vacuum is for light pick up; it sounds as if there may be hair/debris clogging your machine. Please remove the hose, and run a broom stick handle through the hose to see if any clogs can be remove. Also, there may be hair in the foot hose. Hopefully this will help you out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Portal, GA 30450, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Worst Vacuum Ever!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
I bought this vacuum back in November, because I needed something to get by with temporarily until I get rid of my carpet. My previous vacuum that was broken and billowing smoke picked up more dirt and cheerios than this vacuum. I vacuum my living room and have barely anything in the cup afterwards, because it didn't pick it up off the floor. Save your money! Find a different vacuum! I wish I could get my money back, because I ended up with a lemon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 1, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. For no suction, please make sure the brush is still rotating. Also, you may want to remove the hose from the machine to check for a clog. If hair is found this would restrict airflow. You can take a broom stick down in the hose, and push any debris that may be causing the no suction. We hope this helps you out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>