Customer reviews for Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Bissell PowerForce® Compact Vacuum

Lightweight and compact bagless vacuum!
Overall rating:
3.641 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(153 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 153 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
17
1 Star
25
Customer reviews for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Review 21 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Stone Creek, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Must have been made for a child

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
My husband got this little vaccum for me for xmas after i told him months before i didn't want one. Any way i have used it because we gave away my other one. This vaccuum is to small, it doesn't have good suction and the canister keeps falling out, it won't lock in place. I love Bissell products, but this one is their worse.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 16, 2013
We are sorry you are unhappy with your machine. Make sure the dirt cup lock is connected properly to secure the cup. If this isn't locked correctly you will have reduced suction. To view full size vacuums, please click at the link http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacu... ?icid=ccrr.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar

Cheap Parts

PostedDecember 26, 2012
I have used this max for 10 times to vaccum my apartment. It broke its belt while in use. I am highly disappointed with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry the belt broke. Please click at the link so we can assist you further. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Michigan
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Dont waste your money

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
You certainly get what you pay for. I just moved into a new home, got a new vaccume for our new home, and it is horrible. It does not suck hardly anything up, you have to go over the stuff three or four times, and I find that I have to empty it twice before I am finished vacumming my living room. Yes I do have children, however, we do not wear our shoes in the house, and so I cant imagine why it would be this difficult for a brand new vaccumme to clean my carpet in one room only ( the only room there is carpet in). I have had this for one month, and the belt has already broken. Yes it is lightweight, however, I believe because it is so lightweight it is a cheaper version of their better vaccum modles. Dont waste your moeny, spend the extra to get a better vaccum, in the end thats what we are going to do , and be out our 40.00 we spent on this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareOctober 4, 2012
Sorry to hear. Check to see if your belt is broken, or if there is a clog in the upper or lower hose.

This simple video shows a basic belt replacement:
http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...

Here is a quick video to help clear a clog:
http://www.bissell.com/how-to-video...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: JACKSONVILLE , FL
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

debit product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
IT PICKS UP GREAT BUT IT DOESN'T HAVE AN UPHOLSTERY BRUSH. AND YOU CAN'T EVEN ORDER ONE(OUT OF STOCK)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareAugust 24, 2012
Waly, your model may not come with the one brush. If you would like one we will gladly send one out to you. Please contact us at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Thanks for your review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Independence, MO, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Auto/Garage
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

False information on box

PostedAugust 15, 2012
I needed a vacuum that I could haul around easily and I needed the crevice tool and brush for my garage. I bought this product because it showed on the box both tools that I needed and the box stated that it comes with on-board tools...notice the plural form? Now I found out that it only comes with the crevice tool and not the brush. Why state that it comes with on-board tools when it only comes with one tool?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareAugust 20, 2012
Brian, we are so sorry you didn't get that on-board tool. It comes with the black and teal model, but not the purple, pink, and blue ones. We've emailed you for your contact information so we can send you the brush.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byjulie62
onAugust 23, 2012
I did not get the brush in the box either. I have the 23T7-M model. I am not too happy with this product. I saw the brush in the pamphlet also. Plus the brush roller is not adjustable. This was an unpleasant surprise.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byGerry
onAugust 17, 2012
Wow! Only 1 star because it did not have a little brush???
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 26 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New York, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

It was going so well...

PostedApril 14, 2014
well...I got 1 yr of use out of this. It was good while it lasted. I purchased the belts to replace them and then I noticed that the brush doesn't rotate anymore...that's not right. I put the belt in the right way and when I turned it on it was the sound of burnt rubber (there goes the $2.99 belt). I don't know if I care enough to even take this to someone to fix it...It would probably be cheaper to buy something that will last at least 2 years...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 18, 2014
OK, if the brush seized up it would keep breaking belts because it needs to be replaced. The brush can seize up if you get hair or debris wrapped around it. It is a good idea to inspect it and clean it regularly after you finish and unplug your vacuum. Here is a link to the brush for your PowerForce Compact: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Madison, WI
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Noisy vacuum after a year

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Mine worked just fine until a year then it started making lot of noise with less suction. Tried cleaning filters etc without gain. Throwed this and got a new one. Just works fine upto warranty period - no guarantee of working after a year .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the trouble with your last vacuum. If you ever have difficulty, we can help at this link: http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Oak Island, NC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Was happy at first.......

PostedMarch 15, 2014
After just under a year of using this vacuum I am so unhappy and frustrated with it I want to throw it out a window. The power does not stand up to my 3 kids but even that was ok. Now ever single time I use it the wheels fall off. I don't mean once or twice. I mean they fall off 40 times in the course of 2 rooms. It has gotten out of hand and therefore I will be way more selective when I buy another vacuum from any company. Does anyone else have this problem????
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: california,mo
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

hard to find replacement filters at the store

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
You can find plenty of the vacuums at the store (walmart) however finding a replacement filter is the problem! and it doesn't tell you what size like 8,9,10 ect on the filter that comes with the machine. amazon sells several however its trying to decide which is the right one??????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 30, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. If your local Walmart doesn't have the filters in stock. You can order the pre and post motor filter at this link: http://www.bissell.com/search.aspx?...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Sanger, CA 93657, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Unhappy customer

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
I should have known better than to purchase the same product twice within a year. Although this vacuum works great for the first few months that's all it's lasted me is about 4 months both times I bought it. It started smelling burned and now it's making a loud noise just like the first one I bought! Never buying another Bissell product again!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your trouble. You have a one year warranty with your machine, please click at the link so we can better help you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Tucson
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

You get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
After reading countless reviews I decided to purchase this vacuum. I liked the bag less feature and its size. Overall assembly was also easy. Now when it comes to its main purpose this product works extremely well on tile. As for carpet that's a different story. Pushing and pulling it on rugs and carpets of different sizes was like pulling someone through quicksand! Effortlessly glides doesn't apply with the vacuum hits carpet. No height adjustment option available but I guess it's understandable at the price. I wouldn't purchase again if given a redo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Make sure the brush under your machine is spinning for easier maneuvering over the carpet. Please see this link to check your brush. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Danville, Va.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Bissell Powerforce compact Vacum

PostedDecember 23, 2013
It's would be great for wood and tile floors but fully carpeted home not so great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJanuary 13, 2014
Thanks for your review. For larger cleaning jobs, we have full size vacuums to offer. To view, please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacu...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Orlando, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

separates easily

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Whenever I lift vacuum by its long handle (which is how you are supposed to lift vacuum) the handle comes out. I find this so frustrating. I have to lift vacuum by grabbing it by its canister. I have had the vacuum over 6 months and the belt broke recently. I have also noticed suction not as good as it was in the beginning and I do clean the filters every time I use the vacuum. I would not recommend vacuum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the trouble. When inserting the handle make sure you apply pressure until you hear a snap, then it will be secure in the machine. A new belt can be ordered at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa.... For low suction, please check out our tips at this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Tampa, FL, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Belt

PostedNovember 13, 2013
I bought the vacuum about 4 months ago, I loved how it worked until the belt broke, I went to the store and bought replacement belts and they were too big. I then got online and bought from the company and the belt is so tight the brush won't spin at all. I am very disappointed that I spent money on a new vacuum just to have to spend more money to replace the belt just a few months later. Wish it would have worked out better but now I am half tempted just to buy a whole new vacuum and it won't be another Bissell unless I can get the right size belt that won't break or be too small.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byPacov
onNovember 23, 2013
I loved this tiny, efficient vacuum. Well, at least while it worked! I used it 5 times and it stopped working. Turns out, the belt broke after 4 uses, and I wasn't aware. I am leaving right now to go purchase a different vacuum, by a different manufacturer. I hope Bissell fixes the issue with the belt that seems to be a nuisance to others. Otherwise, this would be the perfect vacuum for me. :-(
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 35 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar

light but quality not so much

PostedJuly 11, 2013
i had it for 3 months and the roller wheel broke and melted the inside chamber i am getting a new one for free thank goodness hopefully it doesnt do it again
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDebbie162
onJuly 18, 2013
The same thing happened with my vacuum but all I was told was I could take it to an authorized repair shop, or I could purchase replacement parts online. I only had mine for 4months before it messed up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 36 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Brownsville, PA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Very unhappy

PostedMarch 28, 2013
At first I was very happy b/c it picked up well, However at this point im very frustrated and Im very upset about the product. I dont have many rooms with carpet and wanted something light and easy. I thought this was goin to be a great vacuum for my home. HOwever i had for about a month and the belt broke already. I tried replacing and it keeps overheating and breaking the belt everytime i fix and turn on to use. I lost my receipt and cant take it back to walmart and Im willing to use if this can be fixed immediately some how. But As for now , im completely unhappy and NOT satisfied.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareApril 1, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. Please contact us at the link below, so we can send a belt to you.
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byDissapointed Bissell cust
onJune 1, 2013
Hi Chrissy, I too am having the same problem with mine. I bought mine 2 1/2 months ago and I also lost my receipt. I have purchased a total of 3 belts and they keep breaking because the rotator keeps heating up. I was wondering if you found a solution to this.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byVictoria51
onApril 4, 2013
Good Morning, I am very unhappy with this vacuum I used the vacuum three times and the vacuum stop picking up dirt and when it does it stays in the hose and I have to take it apart to get the dirt out and it has stop sucking up any dirt at all, I thought this would be the best vacuum for my house, but I was wrong and now I am out of a vacuum and I am out of the money I spent I will not invest in a bissell again and I watch Cathy Bissell on the TV saying how good the vacuum is, but it is not the best vacuum and it has not held up to the Bissell name.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 37 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: McDonald, PA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Need longer electrical cord

PostedMarch 20, 2013
The suction is great! However the electrical needs to be about 3 feet longer. I can't even vacuum my whole bedroom withouth replugging into another outlet. I will probably not get another one of these for that very reason.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 25, 2013
We will forward your comments for possible future changes. Thank you for your review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cleveland, OH, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

The Vaccum was Great, BUT..

PostedMarch 19, 2013
The Vacuum was great until my wife mistakenly vacuum a tiny piece of bone the dog left on the floor. All of sudden the noise change and then followed my smoked/burnt smell and it lost its suction power. This happened a week after we bought it from Wall-mart. We change it for something stronger but not a Bissell product.
i will recommend it but don't try to vacuum a tiny bone or object if you lost your receipt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care March 21, 2013
We are sorry you took your machine back. The vacuum is for light suction; therefore, large particles could cause damage to the belt and brush.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: SC
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Belt issue

PostedMarch 16, 2013
This vacuum picks up well and is maneuverable. The major problem is that the belt is always over-heating and breaking. The metal rod that the belt connects to is metal and it heats up very quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareMarch 18, 2013
We are sorry for your trouble. You may want to contact a BISSELL service center for warranty repair. For locations, click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for PowerForce® Compact Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ohio, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Strange white dust

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
This vacuum picks up well. However, after owning it for a few months the vacuum produces a very large amount of white/gray dust. It has produced so much dust (even after emptying the bin) that I think I will have to replace the vacuum because I am not sure this dust is safe.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care January 30, 2013
The vacuum does have strong suction, and will suction deep down into the carpet fibers. What you described could be a carpet powder used in the past on your carpet.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>