Customer reviews for Bissell PowerFresh® Steam Mop

Bissell PowerFresh® Steam Mop

Switch to steam. Switch to simplicity.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(325 reviews) 325
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 325 reviews
5 Stars
259
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
8
1 Star
11
Customer reviews for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Review 1 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Norfolk, VA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

I love it

PostedJuly 27, 2015
I love my steam mop. It does what it is supposed to do, but don't fool yourself, you have to vacuum the floor to catch the dust and the hair first. I only use distilled water, always empty the extra water left in the tank after I'm done, always remove the pad to wash it and dry it.... in short I've been taking good care of it and it lasted so far almost 2 years. The little brush in the back is useless. I can't find the scent discs anywhere! Bummer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar

I loved it's machine I mean it...

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Till it stopped working, the cap on the tank was broken so I replaced... Still broken..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 22, 2015
Thank you for your posting. Please click at the link so we can send you a new cap at no charge. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

a powerful machine with easy clean up

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Doing the tile floors have never been easier since I purchased the PowerFresh Steam Mop. You can just feel the steam sterilizing the environment and for me, there is nothing more comforting. It's durable, light, and considering I've dropped it several times, a tough guy who makes doing the floors as it could possibly be.
I recommend everyone have one of thee guys if you have a lot of bare floors, it'll change your life, save your time, and put your mind at ease if you have children that the environment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Centreville, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Very good cleaning, almost a 5-star!

PostedJuly 9, 2015
5 stars for customer service.
3 stars for the steam mop due to reliability issue.
The steam mop could have been a 5-star if it did not break down less than 18 months. Luckily I'm still within the 2-yr warranty. So the jury is still out on the reliability issue. With that said, the steam mop cleans very well, especially on tiles. I also have used on laminated hardwood floor (on medium setting thou). Overall, it reduces the cleaning time from 30 mins to 15 mins compared to the traditional mop. I highly recommend this steam mop to anyone out there. Register your steam mop so you can take advantage of the warranty.
Customer service is great. Just one phone call and Bissell is sending me a new steam mop. I did buy the mop directly from bissell.com.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Round Rock, TX
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

1940 Steam Mop Review

PostedJuly 4, 2015
I just received it and put it together yesterday. I just finished using it in my small kitchen that has vinyl floor. I did not slide as easily as I thought it would; however, I probably did not use the right mop head. I tried using the scrubber mechanism but it would not stay down so I'm sure I need to learn how to do it correctly. I'll change out the mop head and try again. I do not have the distilled water yet so used tap water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy RoxanneConsumer Care July 9, 2015
Thanks for your review. The scrubby pad will have a little resistance because of the microfibers. It is good idea to try the softer mop pad.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Suffield, CT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Loved this product!!!!!

PostedJuly 3, 2015
I've owned two other steam mops before buying this one and didn't like them at all. I can't say enough good things about this product. It is light weight, easy to use, quiet, easy to clean and does a great job! I never thought I would look forward to cleaning my hardwood floors. After using this steam mop, they look brand new! A very satisfied customer
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Washington, DC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Super cleaner steam mop

PostedJuly 2, 2015
I love this steam mop. Easy to use! Nice long cord. Really cleans the heavy traffic areas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: pa
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Dusty Surfaces
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Power Fresh Steam Mop

PostedJune 15, 2015
This is my second steam mop it took over three years to wear out the first one.
I use it on our kitchen dining room floors over 350 square feet of space and it makes it easy to keep clean.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

WORKS FOR ME!!

PostedJune 14, 2015
70 YEAR OLD BATCHELOR----ALL TILE FLOORS
MOPPING JUST MOVED THE SCHMUTZ AROUND...GROUT LEFT GROTY...
STEAM MOP CLEANED VERY WELL....DAMP FLOORS ARE TO BE EXPECTED WHEN APPLYING STEAM TO A COOL SURFACE....
NO OPERATION PROBLEMS...USED DISTILLED WATER...BASED ON RESIDUE ON MOP HEAD IT GETS 5 STARS.
UNNECESSARY MARKETING EMAILS WILL PROBABLY LEAD TO "UNSUBSCRIPTION"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Sacramento, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Stopped working after only two years

PostedJune 7, 2015
Purchased this mop two years ago and it stopped working. The unit gets hot but does not pump steam to the pad. Will consider purchasing another brand. We only use it about 4 times a year so a total of 8 times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy ShannonConsumer CareJune 9, 2015
We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the no spray of steam. Please check the filter. The color of the filter should be bright green and white. If it is dark brown/blue the filter needs to be replaced and this would cause the no spray. You can order at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... Another good tip is to remove the foot and clean the spray tip with a paper clip. Hard water deposits may be clogging preventing spray.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Michigan, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Very wet floors

PostedJune 7, 2015
My first Bissell. Used this for the first time yesterday. My floors were so wet after using, with regular back and forth passes and not lingering, that I had to get a dry regular mop to get up the water. I had this problem even on the lowest steam setting. I used distilled water as recommended. I'm very disappointed because I had high hopes for this steamer since my Shark steamer quit working.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy ShannonConsumer Care June 9, 2015
Thanks for your posting. Please check the water tank for any cracks and also the cap & insert. Does the water tank leak when out of the machine? If yes, you just need a new cap. See this link to order: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... The filer is included with the cap if a new one is needed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted bySusieHomemaker
onJune 15, 2015
@ Shannon, Consumer Care
No disrespect but you need to familiarize yourself with the Bissell products better. You are mentioning a filter in the cap to "specialk" and I was told by a Bissell rep that the Powerfresh 1940 mop does not have a filter. In addition, the parts link you provided to "specialk" and another customer ("jimf") who had a mop that wasn't steaming is for a different mop--NOT the Powerfresh 1940.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byspecialk
onJune 10, 2015
There are no cracks that I can see in the tank or the cap. The tank doesn't leak when out of the machine unless I shake it. I just purchased this model, #1940, on June 1, 2015...received it four days later on the 5th and used it for the first time on the 6th. I shouldn't have to buy any replacement parts with a brand new machine plus the part that the responder referenced for me to buy does not go with this machine. I'll try the machine one more time and if the same problem is still there, I'll just box it up and return it. Sad because I had high hopes for this floor steamer.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 12 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Massachusetts, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Soooo Disappointed!!!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Loved my steam mop - I have all hardwood and tile in my house and could always trust that it would get the job done, but after a year it has become temperamental - sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I have not found anything else on the market like it for the money. I am going to call about the two year warranty and hopefully have it serviced at no cost to me - I will write an additional review based on the type of service that I get on the warranty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JohnConsumer CareMay 28, 2015
Thank you for your review. We can get you back to cleaning in no time with a few simple troubleshooting tips. Please remove the water tank and check for any damage with the cap & insert. Then push up on the X-valve with your finger to see if water comes out. If no, you just need a new cap & insert. Make sure to use water only and distilled water is best. When the machine has cooled, please remove the mop head and pour white vinegar through the top of the mop head to clean any clogs. Reattach the mop head and try to spray again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: waynesburg PA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

love the machine

PostedMay 23, 2015
I love the machine but it drips water from the resvoir, I cannot figure out what is wrong, Everything seems hooked up correctly, and it works good, but it drips. Any ideas on what is wrong?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Pittsburgh
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

hard to use

PostedMay 19, 2015
I was really excited to get this mop, so I could toss the old bucket away. However, I found this very difficult to use. It did not go forward. The pad kept getting caught and going underneath. I tried the other pad and same thing happened. When it did work, the pad got dirty, so I assumed it worked.
It seems like the elastic is not tight enough. I am really bummed. I will be returning this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MelishaConsumer Care May 28, 2015
Thanks for your review. We're really sorry for your trouble. Make sure to use the PowerFresh Steam Mop on smooth surfaces so it will glide smoothly. Also, the mop pad needs to be wet. To ensure your machine is steaming properly, please see the link for some easy tips. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Columbia, SC, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Love I can get between things.

PostedMay 19, 2015
I have had two other steam mops and this one is head over heals above the others. I can get between things, it has great temperature range, and a cord that is long enough to get to the other end of my kitchen,so sweet. The water tank can be removed which makes it easy to add the water and dump it out when you are finished and It gets the floors clean without leaving them to wet. It was easy to put together .This one is 100% women friendly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Prophetstown, IL 61277, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

My Bissel

PostedMay 13, 2015
Got my steam mop as a house warming gift and love it! My only complaint is today when i grabbed it water came pouring out. After taking out the tank I realized the cap had broken off inside of the mop. Think I may have pushed it down to hard last time I filled it. Looked for the replacement tank online and noticed they where out of stock, so thinking a lot of people have this problem?
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MelishaConsumer CareMay 19, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're sorry the cap broke and now it's out of stock. No worries, the cap is due in any day now. We will be happy to send a new cap to you at no charge. Please click at this link for warranty replacement. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Louisiana
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Wonderful, I love my Bissell

PostedMay 12, 2015
I had a different brand steam mop that went out. I started shopping online for a new one, I found this Bidsell and ordered it. Used it once and loved it so much I bought one for my son and daughter in law.
Great product!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Northern NV
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Excellent Product !

PostedMay 12, 2015
I purchased this Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop for myself and liked it so much I purchased two more for Mother's Day gifts and both recipients love it as much as I do. Was stunned how dirty my floors still were after mopping by hand. But this got them amazingly clean and dried almost immediately. One of the gift recipients is 85 and loved how light and easy to use it is. Look no further for a steam mop!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Estero, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

No Replacement Parts

PostedMay 11, 2015
I'm giving this one star based on Bissell's replacement parts and not the unit's performance. After only one use, the water tank fell on the floor and slit open the water cap. Bissell and any other online parts retailer does not have the replacement tank and cap in stock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy PamConsumer CareMay 13, 2015
Thank you for your posting. No worries, the cap & insert will be in any day. To set up a pending order see this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJoJo
onMay 17, 2015
I have been waiting a month for this part. What is the deal?.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Missouri
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Return and Replacement transaction

PostedApril 27, 2015
I purchased the Model 1940 on line approximately one year ago. The unit started to leak when in use. I called Bissell to find out what might be the case. Their agent explained that the leak is the result of a clog in the water system. The graciously agreed to the return of the unit with replacement by a new model. Couldn't have been more satisfied. Also, the unit works great.
Best:
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNaomi
onApril 28, 2015
I purchased the steam mop about 2 months ago. On my second use I forgot the mop on and now there is no power going to it. As I live in the Caribbean, I got a technician to look at it and I need a thermal fuse, but I have no idea which fuse to buy. Can anyone help?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 >>>