Customer reviews for Bissell PowerFresh® Steam Mop

Bissell PowerFresh® Steam Mop

Switch to steam. Switch to simplicity.
Overall rating:
4.551 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(363 reviews) 363
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 363 reviews
5 Stars
286
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
12
1 Star
16
Customer reviews for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Review 1 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Canton, IL
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Works great until it leaks

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
This is the second one I've had. The first one leaked out of the pressure relief valve and Bissell graciously replaced it. The replacement is now doing the same thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Horicon, WI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

I have to be shown!

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
I have scrubbed with a sponge mop for years and we live hard in the country so track in lots of garden gunk. I always thought lots of soap/cleaner did the trick, but sometimes things looked dull. My kitchen/dining area is quite large so I tried separating the sections and did the kitchen 1st. I was amazed at how it got the dull stuff off. I need a new floor as this vinal is 21 years, but until I do this has restored the clean and shine as best it can. Love it and it is as light as my olf stick mop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Great Steamer -- brings OLD vinyl floors back to life!

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
I received my product a little while ago, just never took the time to leave a review. Reading over a few of the ones listed I thought I'd put in mine so it may help out someone else.
I had a Eureka Floor Steamer and it was pretty good -- took off the grime and such, then I got a shark floor steam (free w/a purchase# -- the Shark replaced the Eureka #yes really# it seemed to give off a better steam -- and it was lighter too --- WELL THEN...I saw the PowerFresh 1940 - compared it to the two I already had and was won over. Now the PowerFresh has replaced the Eureka and the Shark.
I love this little machine. While the earlier two I had got the job started on my 15+ year old vinyl floor -- the PowerFresh came in and finished the job. Its lightweight and has 3 settings #which neither of my other machines had# The area it covers is wider and the pads #if you put them on correctly (start from the square end and pull to the rounded end -- tuck in the corners# stay put very nicely. I love the 3 steam settings -- on the old floors that highest level is the best for cutting through the buildup that occurs when floors have lost their protective layer #for lack of a better term#.
I used the PowerFresh to clean the floor and then mopped with a refinisher product -- then two days later did a light PowerFresh mop over the floor again...when folks come over they ask WHEN DID YOU GET A NEW FLOOR? How about that...after 15+ years the old floor is getting compliments. It was a combination of the two products but the PowerFresh got the buildup and my floor looks great --
The only thing folks have to be careful not to go over the floor too many times when the steamer is on high -- your pad will get very wet and the floor will then be very wet...if the floor is extremely dirty you may need to do this #just be aware of the water -- the machine is not broken). I don't recommend using the steamer on high on NON sealed wood floors because of the possibility of the water...I also would be cautious of using it on even SEALED wood floors on high! If you're mindful of the temperature and only go over a few times it should work out just fine.
MY ONLY CON: I wish these mops had ON/OFF switches -- the machine makes noises when the water tank is empty...then you have to pull the plug to have it go off. An on/off switch would be a great idea for ANY of these types of machines.
I also recommend the Bissell Spot Clean 5207 - it wouldn't come up in the recommendation list. This little guy does a great job for quick messes. Its small and compact too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Washington state
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

This steam mop is awesome!

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
This mop did a fantastic job at removing 23 years of dirt that couldn't be removed with regular mopping or even scrubbing on your hands and knees with a brush. The dirt that gets down in the little tiny divots and crevices of linoleum. I read in the instructions that the pump would make a noise the first time out and it did but it soon stopped. I will never mop without steam again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Waynesville, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Pads don't stay firmly in place

PostedJanuary 8, 2016
I bought this steam mop with high hopes that it would work on the linoleum/vinyl(I'm not sure which it is) floors in the house we recently purchased. I'm pretty sure the floors are original from when the house was built in 1985 and they were looking pretty rough. I'd tried scrubbing on my hands and knees, tried mopping EVERY DAY with a wet pad mop, tried just about everything and the floors still looked dull and aged and dirty. This steam mop has infused them with new life! I AM SO IMPRESSED! I mopped 3 times the first day I brought it home because after the first use I could see the floor starting to try to shine again! It was super easy to use and it is coaxing my floors back to life. I feel like I can live with this linoleum now whereas before I frowned and grumbled every time I walked down the hall and through the kitchen. The pattern is dated but this steam mop has made them shine! Made them happy! Most importantly it's made ME happy! I love that it's just steam, no chemicals or cleaners needed, I love that my old, original linoleum/vinyl is shining and LOOKS CLEAN and FEELS CLEAN. The only problem is the mop pad seems to slide out of the seating and then the mop is a little difficult to push straight on, I just turn it sideways and it moves around the floor quite easily. I can live with that because this thing CLEANS, easy to operate, I'm happy, my floors are happy, it's everything I wanted and needed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ohio, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Great until it starts leaking hot water.

PostedJanuary 3, 2016
Works great but after awhile it drips hot water out the back and if not wearing anything on your feet will burn them. Bissell replaced it with no problems but now my second one and it is starting to do the same
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 30, 2015
I have 3 little dogs that I adopted from abusive conditions. They weren't housebroken at the time I took them in. While they are all making great progress, there are still the occasional "accidents". It's important to sanitize the floors and remove any scent so that my dogs will be discouraged from using the areas again. I had been using another appliance which required using chemicals that I didn't realize contained ammonia. Urine contains ammonia. I learned from an animal behavior specialist to NEVER use ammonia products to clean floors in homes where dogs live. My entire house is porcelain tile, the ammonia scent was in all of the grout. You can imagine how confusing that was for my dogs. (wasn't fun for me, either)
This steam mop is lightweight, easy to use, and a great value.It stands upright on it's own, heats quickly, & gets hot enough to kill most bacteria, (& smells) & cleans without the use of expensive chemicals. The reusable pads wash easily. It also has a removable tank that holds enough water so it doesn't have to be refilled so often as to being annoying.
I think the only con would be a small, easily changed, design flaw. The tank has to be turned upside down to fill and because of it's shape, it doesn't sit flat. I have to prop it in my dish drainer, so I can use both hands to hold a gallon jug of distilled water to fill it.
Over all, I'm very pleased & would recommend the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop Hard Floor Cleaner 1940 to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Conway, SC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Great steam mop

PostedDecember 17, 2015
I purchased this steam mop because I had new laminate and tile installed in a home I recently purchased. Nothing I tried seemed to really clean both surfaces really well. I as so glad I decided to give this mop a try. It works great on both surfaces. Really easy to use. Glad I made this purchase!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted byjaw373
onJanuary 20, 2016
For the comment of 1/2016 for use on laminate floors...sealed or unsealed these products work very well if you are mindful of how high you set the steam. If you set it too high and go over the floor too many times the floor will be 'wet'. If you set it lower and let the machine heat up fully and only go over a few times to do the job -- it should work out well. I use mine on my old vinyl floor, slate floor and pergo #not sealed#. The pergo I only do a light job to get the dirt and sanitize the area and it does great.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bySSgirl
onJanuary 19, 2016
I have heard not to use a steam mop on laminate flooring. I bought this steam mop to use on mine anyway. I bought three or four different types of mops and nothing seemed to clean very well. I use this on low steam and it works great.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byBobbie
onJanuary 14, 2016
I was told not to use a steam mop on laminate floors. Have you heard this?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 9 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New Mexico
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Phenomenal product!

PostedDecember 17, 2015
This steam mop has changed the way I clean! In a household with 3 young sons, keeping the bathrooms clean is a full time job. This mop has cut my cleaning time in half and I feel it does a much better job than the traditional mop and bucket. So very pleased with my new mop.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Detroit, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Get one!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2015
I've discarded my mop as this is the best floor cleaner. Easy to ensemble and use. The scented pod smells fresh and room has a nice aroma. No chemicals just water. Enjoy mopping the floor now. Lol.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Good, solid steam mop.

PostedOctober 28, 2015
I have laminate and tile flooring throughout the house and I always disliked using dirty mops and harmful chemicals to clean the house so as soon as I found out about steam mops I got one immediately. It is so much better than any other method of cleaning the floors that exists on the market. Especially if you have small children in the house the steam mop is a must! It cleans and sanitizes without any harmful chemicals to bother anybody. The price was reasonable. It was very easy to assemble. I have been using this steam mop for over a year now and so far had no issues with it. I like that it is lightweight and does not take a lot of space to store. I like that I can change the amount of steam to use depending on the task and I like the size of the floor head which covers decent size area at once. Overall it is a good, solid steam mop, but some improvements would make it much better. Like for example, I wish the cord would be longer because when I steam clean my whole house I have to unplug it too many times to reach all the areas and then every single time I have to wait for it to reach the required temperature to produce the steam. Also I wish the water tank would be bigger so I would not have to add water so often when I am steaming the whole house, but at the same time I really like the fact that water tank is removable because it makes it so much easier to fill it in with water when needed. Another thing would be nice is if the floor head would have many steam holes spread out all over instead of just one in the middle.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Faulty Product

PostedOctober 27, 2015
Product stopped working the third time I used it. No troubleshooting suggestions available for fixing the machine or to figure out why it stopped steaming/working. I would not buy this again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JuanConsumer CareOctober 28, 2015
Oh no! Here is a link with a few troubleshooting steps, they should help: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...

If you're Steam Mop is still not working please contact us!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar

great product

PostedOctober 22, 2015
Easy to assemble and use,very effective,removes the dirt with no effort.Powerful steam flow,useful settings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Elk Grove, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Love it until it leaks from the back

PostedOctober 19, 2015
After 1 yr, it leaks water from the back whenever I am using it to mop my wood floor. I have tried to tighten the cap of the water bottle. I also check if there is leakage around the bottle. None of those problems happen. It only leaks when I use it to mop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JuanConsumer CareOctober 22, 2015
Hi Tom - That is definitely unusual. Give us a call we'd really like learn more about the leak and see how we can fix it. http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/?... Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJustin
onOctober 31, 2015
I also have this same problem, mine is about 2 years old. Leaks from a small hole in the back that is part of the plastic outer case.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: MN
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Love it..til...

PostedOctober 18, 2015
I love this mop! It truly does what it says! it cleans so well, and so easy to use, BUT, I had it for a yr and 2 mos and now it will no longer steam. UGH. I tried all the suggestions online. she's dead! so bummed. Can't afford to buy a new one every yr
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareOctober 22, 2015
Sorry to hear this, Cindy! Give us a call, it sounds like your PowerFresh is still under warranty. If we cannot get it working again we may be able to replace it for you! http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/?...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houston, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

love it.

PostedNovember 30, 2015
after having a hand held, (for only one week) and being very frustrated at the lack of cleaning I bought this one and have been putting off using it, afraid I would be disappointed.
I was not. I have a small bath with white tile and white grout. dirty all the time. I started using it and thought this is not working, and about that time, It is white again. Maybe next time it will be easier.
I was wondering if I could pretreat my floors with a cleaner, and steam the cleaner? I think it would work faster, but don't want to harm the cleaner. does anyone know?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: CA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Allergen Control

Broke after 9 months, loved it until then

PostedOctober 14, 2015
I barely had this for 9 months until the cap broke that covers the water. It cracked right where the seal is. It leaked water all over and caused rust in the lower part of the unit. I loved this steam mop until this happened. I recommended this to all my family and friends and regret doing so now. The cap is faulty which ruined the whole unit that I can no longer use.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JuanConsumer CareOctober 15, 2015
Oh no - We're sorry to hear this happened! We should be able to cover this under warranty so please give us a call! http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/?...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJoe75
onFebruary 7, 2016
sounds like Bissell needs to recall this product and to fix their mistakes. Bissell has a good name in cleaning products lets keep it that way.......
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: CA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Love, Love, Love

PostedNovember 20, 2015
This steam mop is great! I have smooth tile floors and there are no streaks. Will never use a mop again. I will be buying another one for my daughter.
Would definitely recommend this product good price, works great. Could use a steam burst button but still works great without it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indiana
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Excellent!

PostedNovember 20, 2015
I was visiting my daughter and she had just purchased this model. I was so impressed with the results I went right home and ordered myself one! I have never owned a steam mop and I am OCD when it comes to cleaning. I would clean my floors while on my hands and knees...well, NEVER again will I do that. This steam mop is awesome! I always thought my floors were clean without using a mop...boy was I wrong. I am in love with a steam mop! You won't be disappointed if you purchase this product.
 
Other Products I Recommend
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Windermere, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Steam.......so you know it's clean!

PostedNovember 18, 2015
Having cleaned my tile floors with my tried and true method of mopping, I was at first hesitant to try something new. How could this device do a better job than my trusty old "Cuban Mop?"
Well.....it does!
Hands down this product is amazing. Not only are my floors clean, they're disinfected as well (due to the steaming action). No more hassles wringing out the towel, sloshing water about the house. Now it's as simple as filling the reservoir, clicking the on button and we're off to a cleaner and healthy floor.
If you are looking for steam cleaning mop, look no further than this product. You'll be glad you did.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 >>>