Customer reviews for Bissell PowerFresh® Steam Mop

Bissell PowerFresh® Steam Mop

Switch to steam. Switch to simplicity.
Overall rating:
4.725 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 233 reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
Customer reviews for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Review 1 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Northeast Ohio
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Lots of cleaning power!

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
I've used it about four times now, I just got it a few weeks ago and love it! I like to use the highest steam setting! I have a large kitchen and dining area and it really makes short work of it! -and gets it squeaky clean! I spray the floor with a scented floor soap for a nice scent and to my surprise it also helps the steam mop glide a little better. I would like to try the Bissell scented water for the water cup too! Haven't tried the scented discs yet, saving for when the relatives come to visit. Overall nice product Bissell!
+60points
73of 86voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byPadre
onMarch 6, 2014
How long is the run time on one full tank of water?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byk9mom
onFebruary 24, 2014
what kind of 'scented floor soap' do you spray on your floors? thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 2 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: South FL
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Fantastic Product!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
I purchased the PowerFresh Steam Mop about a month ago and I am very happy with this product. I have 3 pets, one of whom is older and has frequent accidents in the house. I wanted something that I could use to clean up these messes quickly and without putting harsh chemicals on the tile.
The mop was incredibly easy to put together. The whole process took me about 2 minutes. The mop pads come on and off very easily and wash very well. I love the multiple steam settings and that you don't have to constantly depress a button to produce steam. The swivel head allows you to reach into any corner and the mop fits under most furniture as well.
The mop heats up in 30 seconds, so you're ready to clean almost immediately. It's very lightweight and the cord is long enough so that you can mop a pretty big area without having to plug in to a different outlet. It's great to do spot cleaning or to clean a large floor area. I am very happy with my purchase!
+136points
147of 158voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Posted byPainaide
onJanuary 13, 2014
I bought the Bissell Powerfresh Steamer a few weeks ago. I chose this model after asking friends about their steamers and what they liked and didn't like. I am very happy with my choice. I like the bigger head and longer cord. It is light weight and easy to maneuver. The only complaint I have it that the water vessel is too hard to get out. There really is no easy way to grasp it. I do manage after several attempts, but it is a bit frustrating. As far as cleaning ability, it hits the mark. And with steam, the drying time is minimal compared to a mop. Over all, I am satisfied with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byCioci
onAugust 21, 2013
I used the Power Fresh Steam Moo for the first time today. There is streaking on the floor. I read your advice about vinegar for small areas of streaking, but what about the floor as a whole. I wonder if after a few more cleanings, there will be an improvement? KT
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byCassiasmom
onFebruary 28, 2013
Love my PowerFresh Steam Mop! With 3 dogs including a Dogue de Bordeaux who gives a new meaning to drool, not to mention the mess when she drinks, I needed something reliable for the constant clean ups. Couldn't be happier with the product and love the scented discs.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byedie
onFebruary 4, 2013
Have you ever tried a Haan Steamer? Thats what I use. Was just going to order another one and saw that Bissell now has one. Are the pads micro-fiber?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)
Review 3 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Eatonton, GA 31024, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Not good for Hard Wood Floor

PostedApril 16, 2014
Used the mop on tile and very good results.
Not so on my hard wood, there are areas of abrasions about 2 inches wide and 6 inches long over the entire area that I cleaned. Now having the flooring installer screen and reapply poly. The mop cover was new (first time used). Be careful on your hard wood!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. Steam can only be used on sealed hardwood floors. Also, make sure not to linger to long when spraying the steam. It's always good to contact your manufacture of your flooring if possible to ensure steam can be used.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Louisville, KY
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Great product for the cost

PostedMarch 25, 2014
This mop does a great job and is surprisingly inexpensive for the quality. My mom bought this for me as a gift and we have enjoyed cleaning our hardwood and tile floors with it. We have not had any issues with streaking on our natural hardwood floors. The water reservoir is not hard to remove (do not agree with other posts that said it was hard to remove). Cord is long. We went ahead and ordered an extra set of mop pads to have when/if the ones it comes with tire out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Edison, NJ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Great Tool

PostedMarch 24, 2014
I have mostly laminate and hard wood floors. My floors started to look dingy and streaky. After the first use, you should see how much dirt it picked up. The shine is already returning to my floors. I am sure that after one or two more times, my floors will be just as clean and shiny as when I put them in. Thank you for a great product. The only issue is that the water container is difficult to remove. Maybe the next generation of mops should have some type of clip, lip or latch to assist in getting the water cup out. Thanks, again, Bissell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Las Cruces, NM, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

I like how easy it is to add water.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
I've cleaned old wax off floor that I couldn't get off by leaving multi-purpose cleaners on overnight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: York, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Not my first Steam Mop

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Have had several steam mops in the past and was somewhat satisfied with them but the PowerFresh Steam Mop is the best one I ever had. Lots of steam, lots of cleaning power. Great mop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Chiicothe, OH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Best mop ever

PostedMarch 10, 2014
I have hardwood floors over 70% our the 1st floor of our house. I have tried several cleaning systems and found that my new Bissell's mop is SUPER!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMichigan Lady
onMarch 29, 2014
Exactly the kind of recommendation I was looking for. Just put down a hardwood floor and want something I can clean it with. Thanks for the recommendation!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: California
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male

Streaking

PostedMarch 8, 2014
I have had good experiences with Bissell products I have used. I am sure in fact that this steam mop may be fine for certain applications but not my paver- tile floor. I assembled the steam mop quickly and it was ready to use in minutes. As I began to move the mop back and forth, testing an area of my floor it seemed to be cleaning just fine. However when the floor actually dried I could see visible streaks which required physical attention on my part to eliminate. It was not a good cleaning experience for me but again it may work for you. I contacted Bissell and was authorized to return it for a credit which I am in the process of doing. I was told that the credit will take up to four weeks to hit my account.
 
Other Products I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment with your purchase. The steam may be just removing old cleaners used on your floor in the past. To remove the streaks, just take a dry white cloth and vinegar and wipe the streaks out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Minnesota, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

A nice facelift to my tile floors!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
First time use - I was satisfied with the job this steamer did on my tile floors. I was able to swivel the head to fit around the toilet. In areas that were darker, this steamer was able to lighten the surface and overall the whole floor looked cleaner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Mesa, AZ
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

This product performs better than expected

PostedMarch 5, 2014
I would recomend this floor steam cleaner again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: East Windsor, NJ, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Magic purchase

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
I am totally in love with this steam mop! Just used it tonight for the first time on my laminate wood and tile floors. It cleaned like a dream and I loved the samples of the scent discs so much that I purchased two more packs. Finally no more foot prints or streaks on the floors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Findlay, OH 45840, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Does a great job!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
I purchased Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop 1940 just today, used it today and LOVE it! It's easy to use, has a very long cord which affords me each place I need to use it, the tank still had some water in when I finished in the area, and it is lightweight. I am extremely happy I finally purchased a steam mop and this one is perfect for my needs. I would recommend this to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: WI
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Cleans great ... But

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Cleans great, but leaves laminated floors looking dull. I guess that's to be expected when using steam. I like the steam power settings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: South Carolina, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Great!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
I own a small house cleaning company and we only use natural products, so I've tried out a few steam mops in my day and this one is by far the best! For my floors at home, I was only able to get them clean with my old steam mop when using extra cleaner and a scrubbing pad. I bought this mop because of the included scrubbing pad, but the mop is so powerful, I can use the regular pad too with great results. I have old white linoleum in my kitchen and a 100 lbs puppy who loves to dig, so my floors need some TLC every day and this mop is what the doctor ordered! This steam mop has an extra long cord, too, so I am able to do my entire kitchen as I was never able to do with previous mops I've tried -a definite plus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted bySammi
onMarch 24, 2014
Jinsan, I had this problem at first as well. It turned out that my floors had so much leftover gunk on them from mopping that I had to let the steam penetrate through it for a moment before it would glide smoothly. I actually use that as an indicator of how clean an area is now because if there is gunk left from cleaning, shoes, my dog, etc., the mop will not glide across it.
Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byJINSANJOSE
onMarch 8, 2014
I must be doing something wrong on my linoleum floors. The scrubbing pads won't stay on the mop and it is not rocket science on how to put them on. So I am using the white pads instead that do stay on but are really hard to use as they seem not to glide very well. I did speak to Bissell about this and they sent me another package of the pads but nothing changed. I am wondering if I can use a chemical like Lysol to help the gliding process or will it ruin the pads? I have a shoulder problem so by the time I am thru I need 2 Advil. Any suggestions. NOTE: I have tried both high steam and medium steam.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 16 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: va
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Eco-Friendly

best steam mop and customer service!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
I am in love with this steam mop! It's by far the best one I've ever used and I've tried 3 other brands. This is why I was so sad when it stopped working a few days ago. I called customer service today to see what I could do about it. I spoke to an awesome lady (who's name I should have asked!) who helped troubleshoot with me. After she realized it wasn't a fixable problem she told me a shipping label for the power cord was on its way and that they'd send out a replacement! I really don't expect customer service like this anymore so it really made my day and has made me a loyal bissell customer! You really can't go wrong with this mop.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Florida, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

This product is a keeper

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
I absolutely love this steam mop. I have a lot of tile in my home which takes a lot of time to clean. This mop has made this chore a lot easier. Easy to use and does a wonderful job of cleaning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: California, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Steam mop

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
I'm sorry, this unit is terrible. The mop does not clean the floors leaves streaks on the tile floors. I have always purchased Bissell products, not anymore.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareMarch 3, 2014
Hi Sammi, I've had this unit for a year and never experienced this, but it can happen depending on if your floors are waxed and the type of flooring you have. Here is a nice set of tips to address this question: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
I hope it helps you out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Sacramento, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
I love this steam mop! Floors come out spotless and with practically no effort! Cannot believe I waited this long to purchase one! Excellent product!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for PowerFresh® Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Chicopee, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

simple to use

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
I am happy with the steam cleaner. I have used it on hard wood floor and kitchen floor. worked great on both . My husband was impressed also. We would recommend the product to family and friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 >>>