Customer reviews for Bissell PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System

Bissell PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System

Powerful rotating brush lifts deep-down dirt as you wash carpet
Overall rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
Customer reviews for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Review 1 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Toledo, Oh
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

wont spray solution or water

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Used this steamer twice and well it sropped spraying water and solution. Ive done everything to try to get it to work but it wont. Its frustrating and depressing i invested so much into this and it wont work...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareOctober 28, 2014
Thanks for your comments; we’re sorry for the no spray.
If all the troubleshooting has been completed, it would be best to take your deep cleaner to a BISSELL Authorized Service Center. You have a one year warranty with BISSELL. To search for a location, please see this link:
http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Shrewsbury, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

you get what you pay for-cheap

PostedOctober 10, 2013
stopped working after 1st time-water/cleaner stops coming out-most frustrating steam cleaner i have ever owned! will not buy another bissell
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Laplace, La.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Stopped working in 3 minutes!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
I have owned several bissels over the years and never have a problem. This time the sprayer stopped working almost immediately . I read the book and looked for trouble shooting tips. I checked all parts and reloaded water container. I tried it on tools to see if it would work on that setting. No luck at all. Called and they said needed to be home to trouble shoot with cleaner in front of me. It works or it don't. I will be calling to day to resolve the issue.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareOctober 7, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Mar. It does work best to have the machine handy when going through our help tips. Here is a link that may be useful for you: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Oswego, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Bissell Power Steamer Select, bad product

PostedDecember 3, 2012
The first time i used it the motor went out. I had to take it to a dealer who had to send it away to be replaced. I just got it back today and the first couple passes it was awesome. Now it will not spray the solution. The brushes and the suction etc. work just fine. But if there is no solution then it really doesn't matter. I am soooo disappointed with this powersteamer.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 6, 2012
We are sorry for your trouble. Please contact us, so we can better assist you at this link http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDennyc
onAugust 11, 2013
I have had the same problem with my bissell power steamer, It really work awesome but after a while mine stopped spraying the solution, suction works fine. I have purchased three (3) bissell carpet steamers and each one has done the same thing. I have now purchased another brand which in my opinion is not as good as bissell but what choice do I have. I can go a little further to tell you about the bissell vacuum which require no bags, it never worked from the time I brought it home; instead of sucking the debris in it pushed it back out all over the carpet. My son who lives in another state have the same one as me and his does the same thing. I really love Bissell because your product works but for some of them it doesn't work long enough. You can see how faithful I was buying three (3) looking for a different result but got none.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

poor quality

PostedMay 6, 2012
First time out of the box worked for about 5 minutes. This thing hasnt worked right since. I constantly have to take it apart because the the plunger that allows the water to flow keeps sticking causing the water to flow right out of it. The trigger mechanism keeps sliding off the plastic base which activates the plunger. This has been the biggest disappointment. The belt cover was not put on properly, it was put on over the screw post instead of under it.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareMay 9, 2012
We're sorry your having problems with this unit. It would be best if you contacted us for assistance as it is difficult to understand the parts you are referring to. Please feel free to contact us at http://www.bissell.com/customer-sup...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAnastasia
onSeptember 6, 2012
Worked well the first few times I used it.
Now, it does not pick up solution.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Louisville, KY, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

When it worked, it was great

PostedMarch 25, 2015
I have one carpeted floor. Bought this in November 2014. Used it a couple times in the pathway. Plugged it in for a Spring clean today. Will not dispense soap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy FionaConsumer CareMarch 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're sorry your BISSELL Powersteamer isn't working properly. We can help out with a few simple steps. Make sure the red gasket it still on the bottom of the tank. It may have slipped off and is now in the well of the machine. With water in the tank, push up on the X-valve to ensure water comes out on your filter. Then insert the tank in the machine and press firmly to make good contact with the machine. Another good tip to check is the spray tips that are under your machine. Make sure there isn't any dirt or debris clogging the ends. An old toothbrush works great to clean them. Try spraying again, holding the trigger down for one minute to prime.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houston, TX
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Stock on repair parts

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Bought this when we first moved into our new house. Used it once upon move in (carpet), a second time after a soda accident, and put it away. Went to use it several months ago and has not been right since. Blows a belt every time I try to use it now. Can no longer use the attachment/hose as there is no suction. Followed instructions to the letter - this was a big investment for me just starting out. Sorry that I put that much money into it and keep having to buy belts in bulk quantities.
Stick to renting a machine if you only plan on occasional use as this build appears to be finicky and temperamental.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareSeptember 17, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're sorry you're having trouble with the belt with your deep cleaner. Make sure you are using the correct belt. We can help you right at this link: http://www.bissell.com/contact-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byBoston Babe
onOctober 22, 2014
My advice to Soobie is RETURN IT. Be sure you save all your receipts for every piece of equipment you buy and when they do not function as advertised, send them back to the store where you bought them. Maybe you just got the one rotten apple in the barrel of good ones. Good luck.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fallburg, New York
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Bissell Home Rug Shampoo Machine

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Well between my family we have purchased two Bissell rug shampoo machines for use at home. Nice looking machines.. but... they did not last long, one under a year and the other about 2 years.. with not a lot of use. Customer service at point of purchase NOT helpful. Must have receipt ! even if it was purchased with their department store credit card. Both had same problems, water / shampoo would not spray out.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareNovember 18, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble. We do have some easy troubleshooting steps to share for no spray. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byFrustrating house wife
onJuly 8, 2014
I bought mine couple months ago, today is my second time use the machine and it doesn't spray from the hose. is the company doing anything about that?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Arkansas, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Not sure it's working...

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Just used my cleaner , this is the second one in two months, and so far it does not appear this one is extracting any water from the carpet. Used a full tank of solution and water and nothing to dump from dirty water bladder. Not happy
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareAugust 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the no suciton. Please check out the link for some tips we have for repair. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byajones
onAugust 14, 2013
thanks for the comment back. i will be phoning the company this weekend when i am home. To have only used it once, should not have issues. This is my first time with a bissell, and I don't want to have to send this one back again too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAJ - Illinois
onAugust 13, 2013
Check your settings. There is one setting in which it will "pretreat" the carpet and not extract the dirty water. I've had two of these and have never experienced this issue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 10 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: North carolina
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

worked great for ths 1st month, now keep having problems

PostedOctober 28, 2012
i loved it at first. my older bissell quite working too. so I bought this one, worked great the first month. I have several dogs, so I use this newer one every week. Now it dosent want to put down cleaner. I hae to wait 5-10min. then it will make a couple of passes. I am not happy with these at all. One puts down cleaner and one sucks it up. I cant keep using these two just to clean my carpets.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareOctober 30, 2012
Sorry for your trouble Janet, please click on the link here for some helpful tips to get your unit working properly.
http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: POOLER, GA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Cleaning Need:Allergen Control

BULKY AND BREAKS DOWN ALOT

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
I SHOULD HAVE LEARNED FROM MY FIRST PURCHASED BISSEL CLEANER. IT KEPT NEEDING REPAIRS, I KEPT THE PARTS FROM THE FIRST CLEANER THAT I USED TO FIX THIS ONE. I SHAMPOO TWICE A YEAR, SO IT DOESNT GET MUCH USE. DURING EACH USE SOMETHING WENT WRONG WITH IT. USUALLY THE EXTRACTOR OR THE WATER AND SHAMPOO MIXER GOES ON THE BRINK. I HAVE FINALLY TRASHED THIS ONE NOW BECAUSE NO MORE CAN BE DONE TO HELP IT. THE PLASTIC HOUSING GAVE WAY AND THE MIXER WENT AT THE SAME TIME, NO MORE. ALSO THE TANKS ARE CLUMSLY AND HARD TO CLEAN.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 19, 2012
I'm sorry about your frustrations Chuck. Always feel free to contact us by email or phone at the following link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?ic... we would love to help you out with any issues you have with our products.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byGregPa
onAugust 9, 2014
Yes it breaks down a lot!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indiana, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Steamer

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Purchased a power steamer power rush select model 16237. The box says steamer but when I opened it there is not a heating unit on the unit is this really a steamer which will. Dry the Capet quicker?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care March 3, 2015
Thanks for your posting. This is a great question. The power steamer is a general term used in manufacturing and marketing deep cleaners. Your model will spray water/formula, and suction the water back up. Your machine doesn't have a heating element on board; just put hot tap water in the water tank. To see more features your model has, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/powersteamer...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: GA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

left dirty streaks

PostedDecember 18, 2014
This cleaner left dirty streaks in the carpet. As though it wasn't cleaning the whole width of the brushes.
Not very happy. Carpet looks worse than before cleaning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care December 23, 2014
Thanks for your review. Please try doing a water only rinse with your machine, perhaps too much formula was used. If you still have the streaks, please see this link for more help: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Steam Cleaner

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
I think it is very misleading to advertise something as a steamcleaner, when it is not steam at all, only hot water. I also find it inconvienent to have to wait until the canister is empty to refill the canister with clean water to rinse to shampoo out of the carpeting. With the older machine I could run clean water through without shampoo. I do like that the new cleaner is lighter and easer to handle.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Duluth, MN
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Dan

PostedAugust 27, 2012
I have the Bissell Powersteamer Turbo and have had to take it apart a couple of time to fix things on it. The current problem is that the dial to change between floor and tools has become disconnected and I can not see what it is supposed to connect to. I can not afford to get it repaired and am usually a fix it yourself guy but without knowing how it connect I am at a loss.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareSeptember 10, 2012
Sorry to hear that Dan. As our rep mentioned certain internal parts are only available to Authorized Service Centers.

Please contact an Authorized Service Center in your area for further assistance with your request.

You can locate one at this link:
http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Alabama
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

First time used

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
I am very pleased with it but if it quits spraying make sure the belt hasn't slipped off! Just slip it back on and it will work again just fine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Small, but powerful

PostedJuly 22, 2014
My prior two Bissell shampooers had been a much larger version. However, even though this is smaller in size, it seems to be just as effective and lighter weight. I am a Bissell customer for life and would recommend this product to others.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Stockton
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

So far, so good

PostedDecember 11, 2013
The Bissell 1623 was not my first choice for a carpet cleaner. My first choice was sold out. I agree with the one reviewer who noted that naming the carpet cleaner a "powersteamer" is immediately misleading. After reading the specs on the Bissell 1623, I knew that it was advanced, at least featured wise, than my first choice. I have two puppies who are not house broken or pad trained yet. Spot cleaning on my hands and knees became a joke and overwhelming. Since receiving the Bissell 1623 two weeks ago, I have cleaned the carpets in every room, but one, including my living, dining room and stairs. The hose feature is impressive. The suction is strong on the hose and base machine, and the floor dried completely over night, but within hours it was dry to the touch. The only concern I have is with the 2 in 1 tank; the membrane gives me cause for contemplation of replacement cost.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Conn.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

water tank

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Used it 4 times in the last 30 days. Excellent job. works well! The only down fall I found was to many trips to the sink. Clean water tank to small for large area?? But would recommend to other. Good$$$$ too.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Great shampooer for the price

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Very surprised by the performance, excellent.
The tank could be larger though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareSeptember 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The BISSELL Premier has a larger tank. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/deepclean-de...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byHappy Sweeper2
onSeptember 11, 2013
I really love this product. I saw no reason to have so much shampoo that you had a need to rinse. My plush carpet is used right from the kitchen and had not been cleaned for three years. Needless to say it was almost black. The normal color is peach. I have a peach rug now. It really did the cleaning well. Furthermore I had used my sons big rug cleaner and it didn't do half the cleaning this PowerSteamer accomplished. That was the top of the line scrubber. I would choose this model again. It fluffed up the rug like new. The reason it got so dirty in the first place. My hip was so bad I could not operate even a sweeper. Had hip replacement now I can do everything.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 4 >>>