Customer reviews for Bissell PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System

Bissell PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System

Powerful rotating brush lifts deep-down dirt as you wash carpet
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
Customer reviews for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Review 1 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Shrewsbury, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

you get what you pay for-cheap

PostedOctober 10, 2013
stopped working after 1st time-water/cleaner stops coming out-most frustrating steam cleaner i have ever owned! will not buy another bissell
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Laplace, La.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Stopped working in 3 minutes!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
I have owned several bissels over the years and never have a problem. This time the sprayer stopped working almost immediately . I read the book and looked for trouble shooting tips. I checked all parts and reloaded water container. I tried it on tools to see if it would work on that setting. No luck at all. Called and they said needed to be home to trouble shoot with cleaner in front of me. It works or it don't. I will be calling to day to resolve the issue.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareOctober 7, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Mar. It does work best to have the machine handy when going through our help tips. Here is a link that may be useful for you: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Oswego, IL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Bissell Power Steamer Select, bad product

PostedDecember 3, 2012
The first time i used it the motor went out. I had to take it to a dealer who had to send it away to be replaced. I just got it back today and the first couple passes it was awesome. Now it will not spray the solution. The brushes and the suction etc. work just fine. But if there is no solution then it really doesn't matter. I am soooo disappointed with this powersteamer.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 6, 2012
We are sorry for your trouble. Please contact us, so we can better assist you at this link http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDennyc
onAugust 11, 2013
I have had the same problem with my bissell power steamer, It really work awesome but after a while mine stopped spraying the solution, suction works fine. I have purchased three (3) bissell carpet steamers and each one has done the same thing. I have now purchased another brand which in my opinion is not as good as bissell but what choice do I have. I can go a little further to tell you about the bissell vacuum which require no bags, it never worked from the time I brought it home; instead of sucking the debris in it pushed it back out all over the carpet. My son who lives in another state have the same one as me and his does the same thing. I really love Bissell because your product works but for some of them it doesn't work long enough. You can see how faithful I was buying three (3) looking for a different result but got none.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

poor quality

PostedMay 6, 2012
First time out of the box worked for about 5 minutes. This thing hasnt worked right since. I constantly have to take it apart because the the plunger that allows the water to flow keeps sticking causing the water to flow right out of it. The trigger mechanism keeps sliding off the plastic base which activates the plunger. This has been the biggest disappointment. The belt cover was not put on properly, it was put on over the screw post instead of under it.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareMay 9, 2012
We're sorry your having problems with this unit. It would be best if you contacted us for assistance as it is difficult to understand the parts you are referring to. Please feel free to contact us at http://www.bissell.com/customer-sup...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAnastasia
onSeptember 6, 2012
Worked well the first few times I used it.
Now, it does not pick up solution.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fallburg, New York
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Bissell Home Rug Shampoo Machine

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Well between my family we have purchased two Bissell rug shampoo machines for use at home. Nice looking machines.. but... they did not last long, one under a year and the other about 2 years.. with not a lot of use. Customer service at point of purchase NOT helpful. Must have receipt ! even if it was purchased with their department store credit card. Both had same problems, water / shampoo would not spray out.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareNovember 18, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble. We do have some easy troubleshooting steps to share for no spray. Please check out this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byFrustrating house wife
onJuly 8, 2014
I bought mine couple months ago, today is my second time use the machine and it doesn't spray from the hose. is the company doing anything about that?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Arkansas, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Not sure it's working...

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Just used my cleaner , this is the second one in two months, and so far it does not appear this one is extracting any water from the carpet. Used a full tank of solution and water and nothing to dump from dirty water bladder. Not happy
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareAugust 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the no suciton. Please check out the link for some tips we have for repair. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byajones
onAugust 14, 2013
thanks for the comment back. i will be phoning the company this weekend when i am home. To have only used it once, should not have issues. This is my first time with a bissell, and I don't want to have to send this one back again too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAJ - Illinois
onAugust 13, 2013
Check your settings. There is one setting in which it will "pretreat" the carpet and not extract the dirty water. I've had two of these and have never experienced this issue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 7 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: North carolina
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

worked great for ths 1st month, now keep having problems

PostedOctober 28, 2012
i loved it at first. my older bissell quite working too. so I bought this one, worked great the first month. I have several dogs, so I use this newer one every week. Now it dosent want to put down cleaner. I hae to wait 5-10min. then it will make a couple of passes. I am not happy with these at all. One puts down cleaner and one sucks it up. I cant keep using these two just to clean my carpets.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareOctober 30, 2012
Sorry for your trouble Janet, please click on the link here for some helpful tips to get your unit working properly.
http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: POOLER, GA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Cleaning Need:Allergen Control

BULKY AND BREAKS DOWN ALOT

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
I SHOULD HAVE LEARNED FROM MY FIRST PURCHASED BISSEL CLEANER. IT KEPT NEEDING REPAIRS, I KEPT THE PARTS FROM THE FIRST CLEANER THAT I USED TO FIX THIS ONE. I SHAMPOO TWICE A YEAR, SO IT DOESNT GET MUCH USE. DURING EACH USE SOMETHING WENT WRONG WITH IT. USUALLY THE EXTRACTOR OR THE WATER AND SHAMPOO MIXER GOES ON THE BRINK. I HAVE FINALLY TRASHED THIS ONE NOW BECAUSE NO MORE CAN BE DONE TO HELP IT. THE PLASTIC HOUSING GAVE WAY AND THE MIXER WENT AT THE SAME TIME, NO MORE. ALSO THE TANKS ARE CLUMSLY AND HARD TO CLEAN.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 19, 2012
I'm sorry about your frustrations Chuck. Always feel free to contact us by email or phone at the following link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?ic... we would love to help you out with any issues you have with our products.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byGregPa
onAugust 9, 2014
Yes it breaks down a lot!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Steam Cleaner

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
I think it is very misleading to advertise something as a steamcleaner, when it is not steam at all, only hot water. I also find it inconvienent to have to wait until the canister is empty to refill the canister with clean water to rinse to shampoo out of the carpeting. With the older machine I could run clean water through without shampoo. I do like that the new cleaner is lighter and easer to handle.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Duluth, MN
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Dan

PostedAugust 27, 2012
I have the Bissell Powersteamer Turbo and have had to take it apart a couple of time to fix things on it. The current problem is that the dial to change between floor and tools has become disconnected and I can not see what it is supposed to connect to. I can not afford to get it repaired and am usually a fix it yourself guy but without knowing how it connect I am at a loss.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareSeptember 10, 2012
Sorry to hear that Dan. As our rep mentioned certain internal parts are only available to Authorized Service Centers.

Please contact an Authorized Service Center in your area for further assistance with your request.

You can locate one at this link:
http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Small, but powerful

PostedJuly 22, 2014
My prior two Bissell shampooers had been a much larger version. However, even though this is smaller in size, it seems to be just as effective and lighter weight. I am a Bissell customer for life and would recommend this product to others.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Stockton
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

So far, so good

PostedDecember 11, 2013
The Bissell 1623 was not my first choice for a carpet cleaner. My first choice was sold out. I agree with the one reviewer who noted that naming the carpet cleaner a "powersteamer" is immediately misleading. After reading the specs on the Bissell 1623, I knew that it was advanced, at least featured wise, than my first choice. I have two puppies who are not house broken or pad trained yet. Spot cleaning on my hands and knees became a joke and overwhelming. Since receiving the Bissell 1623 two weeks ago, I have cleaned the carpets in every room, but one, including my living, dining room and stairs. The hose feature is impressive. The suction is strong on the hose and base machine, and the floor dried completely over night, but within hours it was dry to the touch. The only concern I have is with the 2 in 1 tank; the membrane gives me cause for contemplation of replacement cost.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Conn.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

water tank

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Used it 4 times in the last 30 days. Excellent job. works well! The only down fall I found was to many trips to the sink. Clean water tank to small for large area?? But would recommend to other. Good$$$$ too.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Great shampooer for the price

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Very surprised by the performance, excellent.
The tank could be larger though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareSeptember 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The BISSELL Premier has a larger tank. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/deepclean-de...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byHappy Sweeper2
onSeptember 11, 2013
I really love this product. I saw no reason to have so much shampoo that you had a need to rinse. My plush carpet is used right from the kitchen and had not been cleaned for three years. Needless to say it was almost black. The normal color is peach. I have a peach rug now. It really did the cleaning well. Furthermore I had used my sons big rug cleaner and it didn't do half the cleaning this PowerSteamer accomplished. That was the top of the line scrubber. I would choose this model again. It fluffed up the rug like new. The reason it got so dirty in the first place. My hip was so bad I could not operate even a sweeper. Had hip replacement now I can do everything.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Dunn, NC, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Upholstery
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Product is good but.......

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Product works well and I really like the attachments for the upholstery. Worried about the durability of the product as the parts I can see (water reservoir) seems like it will break easily. Also not thrilled about the fact that if you are using the attachment and the body of the cleaner isn't 100% upright and lined up with the plastic suction area the attachment won't have any suction at all. Other than that it works well and deep cleaned the back seat of my car that was mistreated by 3 messy kids.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Awesome product

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
i have two dogs and this cleaner works great at handling accidents. It is also good at getting up wine spills.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Newark, DE, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Worked as advertized

PostedDecember 8, 2012
First time user of Bissell and this amazing product. The 1623 PowerSteamer Powerbrush Select works as advertized. I was embarrassed by the amount of dirt that came out of the carpet. The water looked like chocolate milk, which is also the color of the carpet. I went thru the sample cleaning solution in no time. I ordered the 48oz 2x cleaner as backup, you will need it. The down side is the collection bucket fills up so fast, you are constantly dumping and refilling it. I am also puzzled by the name PowerSteamer since I saw no steam come out while in use what does it mean? I would still recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 11, 2012
To view the deep cleaner with a larger tank, click at this link http://www.bissell.com/Big-Green-De.... The term “steamer” is used generically in the deep cleaning industry to identify the process of hot water extraction. We hope this helps. We hope this helps.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byBilly99
onOctober 5, 2013
But there is no heater, and the water does not get hot at all. It is very misleading.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: San Antonio, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

PowerSteamer

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Good product sofore I dad the belt to come off the first time i used it but is was easy to put back on
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Central Oregon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

power steamer

PostedApril 16, 2012
Performed well!
Performed well as Bissell products always have for us in the past. Would recommend this product to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for PowerSteamer® PowerBrush Select Deep Cleaning System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Broken Bow NE 68822
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Cleans well.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Machine cleans well. Had a Bissell in the past, and loved it. This machine does not hold as much water (clean and dirty) It must be cleaned after each use, which I did not have to do with my old Bissell. Like feature that allows the part that sucks up the dirt to be removed from the machine to clean. Don't know why I couldn't buy replacement parts for old Bissell. I had to throw it away! That broke my heart, as it was the best machine I ever had.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 2, 2012
Thanks for the review BeckCa. Some of our other models have larger tanks like the ProHeat 2X and the Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine. I hope you contacted our Customer Care team because we carry parts for many of our older units.

Always feel free to contact us by email or phone at the following link:
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?ic...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 >>>