Customer reviews for Bissell Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop

Bissell Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop

Combines the cleaning power of new Swiffer Steam Pads with the strength of BISSELL steam.
Overall rating:
3.674 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(288 reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 288 reviews
5 Stars
118
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
21
1 Star
46
167 out of 194(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Review 1 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Asbury, NJ 08802, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Not as powerful as advertised

PostedAugust 9, 2014
I bought this for my ceramic tile in my kitchen. This basic steamer works fine for general clean ups. Because it uses disposable flat pads the pad does not get the dirt in the grout lines which I have to do manually. The cord is long, and occasionally gets in the way. The trigger you have to hold constantly and the steam is not very hot, but it does take off spots on the tile. If you don't want to spend a lot of money, as a "plain vanilla" steamer it works ok. I wish there was a textured microfiber cloth to use with this instead of the disposables. As noted--the tiles are clean, however does not get down into the grout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate comments; this always helps with product development. We do have many types of Steam Mops and options for washable microfiber cleaning pads too. To view, please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/steam-mops/?...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCheryl46
onAugust 16, 2014
I have been wanting to comment on my Bissell Steamboost since the first time I used it but didn't take the time until now. I just finished mopping the kitchen and utility room and once again am so thankful for buying this mop. I have degenerative disc disease and moderate to severe spinal stenoses in my lower back. I also have a lot of procelain tile in my bathrooms, kitchen, and utility room. In additiion, I am somewhat described by my husband and family as OCD when it comes to a clean house. I cannot get down on my hands and knees to scrub my floors; I do not feel the mop/bucket method gets my floors clean; I have tried other brand electric steam cleaners without satisfaction. I bought the Bissell Steamboost almost two years ago and absolutely love it. I don't claim that my floors are as clean as my dinner dishes, but I am very pleased with the job the Bissell Steamboost does - and it does not create any additional back pain. I do give it time to steam an area before moving on to another. You can't expect it to work in the same amount of time that you can sweep with an electric broom, but the additional time is minimal. It's the best purchase I've made to accommodate my back problems and achieve the "clean" results I want.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cottage Grove, MN
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Good while it lasts

PostedAugust 2, 2014
I absolutely loved this steam mop until it broke. I was mopping my bathroom floor as I usually do when the trigger for the steam broke off. Now I can not use the steam option. I purchased this less than a year ago and did not keep my receipt so now I am out the money. Incredibly upset!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Winston Salem, NC
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Lightweight

Waste of Money

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Steam is NOT hot. Unit will not stand up. Falls to the ground as soon as you let go. Swivels around any way it wants. Will be returning to store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareAugust 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. Before taking your machine back, please take a look at our FAQ section on our website. It had great tips that will help you out. http://www.bissell.com/faqs/?c=318&...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytrigger fix
onAugust 10, 2014
my trigger broke too. Husband fixed, but drilling hole through trigger handle and replacing plastic with a small metal piece. Recommend Bissell replacing plastic with small metal rod.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Canton, Ohio
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

GOOD MOP

PostedJuly 8, 2014
I bought this when they first came out and have been using it since. I've found the SWIFTER pads have gotten skimpier and I tried the GRIME BOSS pads. They don't work as well and the green strip on the bottom comes off. I need new pads that stay on the mop. I have pets and I just want the unscented type or ones that are scented with Murphy's Oil Soap. I prefer the disposable ones, but the washable ones are OK as long as they are easy to change and stay on the mop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Madison WI
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Swiffer Model 6639 - broke after only a couple uses

PostedJuly 8, 2014
I wasted money buying a product I thought would be reliable given it has the Bissell name. After only a couple uses, the water would not heat up and the steam sprayer broke. I do not recommend this product. I also wish I would have read the reviews as I normally do, before buying the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble you are having. You have a warranty with your machine. For replacement, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Deptford Township, NJ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Bissell swiffer mop

PostedJuly 6, 2014
The product cleans but is not useful in the cracks on the floors on wall. I wished it sprayed in them also besides just spraying floor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care July 9, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. You may like the option of what the BISSELL Lift-Off Steam Mop provides. You can clean a lot more than floors. To view, see this link: http://www.bissell.com/lift-off-ste...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Mississippi, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Very Disappointed! Cheaply made product! Not worth the expense!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
I really liked the convenience of this steam cleaner. Put on a cleaning pad and get a quick steam clean up. Well, it was great the first few times I used it. Then the handle and button mechanism that works the steam broke. I was bummed because I no longer had a receipt and had used it a few times. It was so convenient that I decided maybe it was a fluke and I would get another one and give it another chance. WELL, now right at $100 total between buying two in less than 6 months!! The second one just broke!! To expensive to be so cheaply made! NOT WORTH IT AT ALL!! I will not recommend this product and will warn friends and family before spending their hard earned money on such junk!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJuly 2, 2014
Sorry PJ, one of our reps has sent you an email to help. If you have any other issues please keep in touch via email and we will take care of you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

The WORST

PostedJune 16, 2014
I purchased this item because I was excited about using steam instead of more chemicals to clean, and the seeming convenience of the mop. I was disappointed from the start when I opened the swiffer pads and was confronted by the sickeningly perfumed Febreeze cloud. Then I noticed that the cord flops all over the place when you're cleaning, the handle is so short it makes you hunch over in half to get a decent reach, and the head of the mop flips on its edge when you pull it back to you. I would rather get on my hands and knees the next time. Engineering fail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 19, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. BISSELL has so many options for a Steamer for your floor. Please check out the link for other options. http://www.bissell.com/steam-mops/?...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fountain Hills
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Handle button broke

PostedJune 1, 2014
Product worked great, till it broke after 4 weeks. A small plastic piece broke in steam button on handle, rendering the product useless junk. Product quality control has away to go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy Lisa Consumer Care June 3, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for your trouble. You have a one year warranty with BISSELL. Please see the link for a replacement machine. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Tampa
Age:25 to 34
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

This is my third one... Great concept but trigger breaks after 20 days or sometimes even 5!!!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Bought 3.... One for my kid, one for the office and one for home. All 3 are broken due to the trigger spring giving way... Nice while it lasted!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care June 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry you and your daughter are having trouble with the trigger on your SteamBoost. For warranty coverage, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Santa Fe, NM
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Great idea, poor construction

PostedMay 30, 2014
I received this as a gift to help during a move and was so excited. I used it once and it worked great! But the next day when I went to do the rest of my floors the steam didn't work anymore, on closer inspection the tube that takes water from the well to the mop head had snapped. I didn't expect decades of use, but I was hoping to at least get a few months, at the very least more than once! Talk about disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy  LisaConsumer Care June 2, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We're sorry for your disappointment. You do have a one year warranty with BISSELL. We can help; please click at the link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Broke after only 2weeks

PostedMay 28, 2014
This was a great product at first & I used it to do quick clean ups of the kitchen/bathroom area. Was so mad when the trigger spray broke right off!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care May 30, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're sorry for the trouble. Please click at the link for warranty replacement: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: FL
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

great features

PostedMay 27, 2014
I have a 15 year old dog that sometimes cannot make it outside and the steamboost is so great. I dont have to get on my hands and knees to clean up after him now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Arizona
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

cleans well, smell too strong

PostedMay 26, 2014
This mop cleans very well and is easy to use. Better than the standard mop I was using before. But the fragrance in the pad is strong and bothersome for people with allergies or chemical sensitivity. A non-fragrance pad option would be ideal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care May 28, 2014
Thanks for your review. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJND8276
onJune 29, 2014
I like my Swiffer Bissell Steamboost Steam Mop, however it would be great if you could come out with a pad that uses the Mr. Clean Eraser cleaner. I sometimes use one the erasers on my hardwood to get tough stains or black marks. Works great!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Baltimore, MD
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Waste of money

PostedMay 20, 2014
I only used this maybe 5 times and the steamer stopped working. Now I can't even find it in stores anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care May 23, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the no spray. We can help you out. Please check click at the link for some easy steps to get your machine to spray again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Swiffer Bissell Steamboost - DON'T USE

PostedMay 14, 2014
I thought this was a great product. Then I used it on my linoleum kitchen floor. DISASTER - it left dull marks on my floor in several places . Now I have to see what I can do to gloss over all of these places. If you care about your linoleum floors (not sure about any other type) DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It's best to check with the manufacture of your flooring if possible to ensure steam can be used. Some floor manufactures may not recommend steam for cleaning.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Van Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Clean pretty well

PostedApril 26, 2014
I have had this machine for about nine months and it worked great for all of this time. Last weekend the trigger broke and could not use the steam feature anymore.
I called Bissell and was offered a coupon for an new one. I received my coupon yesterday and went and got my new one today.
At least Bissell stand by its products given us a new one if under warranty.
My suggestion to Bissell is to make the trigger part more sturdy or a different design that lasts longer. It was suggested before to also make a trigger that you can lock so that you do not have to hold it to make it work. Also since this was the only part of the machine that was broken why not provide us with available parts. I will be willing to purchase the trigger part if it was available for purchase if the machine was out of warranty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Florida, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Great

PostedApril 12, 2014
I have been using this mop two to three times a week on my whole house and it works great I had a more expensive one and found out with any steam mop you can not leave in on and sitting with the pad on the floor or it will burn out from the heat if you need to walk away tip the pad up so the heat excapes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: l.a. ca
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

it no longer works in 4 uses

PostedApril 5, 2014
At first I was happy it worked great but in the fourth use it no longer steams. Don't buy. I should of read the reviews before buying and would not have wasted money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry for the no spray. No worries, we have some great tips to get your machine working again at this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swiffer™ BISSELL® STEAMBOOST™ Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Charlotte, NC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Small Living Spaces

Better than a mop and pail.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
The question, is it 50 dollars better. Only time will tell. I just needed something to make cleaning my small patch of laminate kitchen floor more effective and efficient. It seems to have done that after one use. Floor dries faster than a regular mopping. That was important to me too. Looks very clean. Over all I'm pleased but I hope to avoid the plastic rod breakage that others have noted. That's what the warranty is for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 4, 2014
You are absolutely right, we stand behind our warranty. Thanks for the review.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 >>>