Customer reviews for Bissell BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop

Bissell BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop

A revolutionary cleanvacuum and steam at the same time.
Overall rating:
4.332 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 208 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
9
1 Star
16
1 out of 1(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Review 1 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Cannot open water lid

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Was very excited to test the product, only to get stopped in our tracks - the water container do not want to open. Really! I will try and search for a solution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy HeatherConsumer CareMarch 17, 2015
We appreciate your posting. To open the water tank lid just press the sides of the lid and pull out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLins1980
onMarch 21, 2015
I have had the same issue with my symphony as well. I have to use a butter knife to help pry open the water tank. I use one hand to press the two side and then use the butter knife at the top. Have had to use it this way since we purchased the unit -- it does not get any easier....
Hope this helps.
L
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Bensalem, PA 19020, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Yet another great Bissell product!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Prior to receiving the Symphony I had never used a steam mop. First of all, it is a great-looking machine! The attention to detail is outstanding. I used it right away on vinyl flooring and found it to be very easy to operate. It totally surpassed my expectations. Yesterday I used it on hardwood flooring and I couldn't believe the dirt on the pad. I feel like Lee Kaufman (of the Swifter ads) "I've been living in a fool's paradise". I am as impressed with this machine as I am with my two Power Edge vacuums--which impress me every time I use them. Bissell is definitely #1 in my book! Thank you for yet another great product!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ramrod Key, Florida 33042, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Bissell Symphony is the best floor cleaner

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
I received my Bissell Symphony after the holidays and as soon as I started to use it I could tell it made a difference. I used to spend my time filling up a bucket or sink to clean my floors and used elbow grease, now with this new steam cleaner it cuts down on the time I have to clean my floors. I find that it is well built and a new innovation that every household needs. I especially like how it picks up dirt while steaming at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Wall Township, NJ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

Happy contest winner!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Finally tried my Symphony today.Up and running in 5 minutes. Cleaned laminate flooring and tiles in 2 bathrooms and utility room.All looked clean prior to use yet the mop pad showed black dirt and the container was full of hair and debris(we have 2 dogs).Amazed and pleased with the results and so easy to clean and disassemble for next use.Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Wichita, KS, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

Awsome Machine!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
The Symphony work great!! I love that you can use the vaccum and the steam at the same time. It has great suction power and the lack of chemicals is great with children running around. I have absolutlly no compliants about this product it got all of the grim off my floors, in a matter of minutes, from the hosting several holidays events back to back which is amazing. Wonderful product!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: southaven ms
Age:55 to 64
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

bissell symphony

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
cleans as well as advertised, would and have and told friends about this product
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cape Girardeau
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

The product works great

PostedDecember 28, 2013
I just tried out your new symphony vacuum steam mop and it works great. the vacuum and steamer really work well together it picks up the dust and cleans at the same time. The mop pad gets a lot of the dirt up and it cleans out good in the washer. I would recommend this vacuum mop to anyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
This review is from11328 Vac and Steam.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

I love my Symphony !

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
If used as directed, this steam machine is the best way to clean laminated wood floor. No residue from wood cleaning products anymore. I finally found what I needed. Thanks Bissell !
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cape Coral, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

This product is easy to use and gets great results.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Used the vacuum for picking up the dog hair and the bird mess and it worked great. The steam cleaner was easy to use and got the floor clean and sparkling.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Ok product. Does not replace vacuum or regular steam mop

PostedMarch 21, 2015
As a mom with two young kiddies at home I was super excited about this product. The idea of vacuuming and mopping at the same time sounded incredible to me ( maybe too good to be true ... ).
The unit does an OK job of picking up debris as I mop + vacuum at the same time. I find as the mop gets more and more wet, it tends to simply push around debris and I end up with clumps of wet fluff/dust/sand debris. I have used this unit approx 7 times now and each time I have had to go over the floors a second time after using the unit with my traditional vacuum.
In addition to the unit not performing as well as I thought it would, I find the water tank incredibly hard to open. I have had to resort to using a butter knife to help pry open the tank each time I fill it with water. I assumed that after a bit of use it would loosen up but this has not happened as of yet. I also don't love the fact that I can't seem to empty out the tank and let it dry after each use. I may have missed something (instructions are only so-so) but there does not seem to be any way to open the water tank and empty excess water.
Overall, I would recommend this unit only IF you were hoping to find a product to use in between real cleans. As a quick clean up after dinners / mid week when busy it is ok. It is not good enough to be your only method of cleaning floors. I would also recommend it if purchasing it on sale -- not quite worth the cost in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MarieConsumer Care March 25, 2015
Thank you for your review. We want you to enjoy your Symphony, so we have a few tips to help you out. With too much water on your floor make sure you're not holding the trigger down too long in one place. Also if the setting is on "HI' to promote more steam to spray out, try the setting on low. This may fit your needs better. To open the tank lid, press at the sides first then pull out. There is no need to empty the extra water from your machine; however, if you want to empty the tank just tip the machine upside down over the sink to empty.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Markham, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

FANTASTIC

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
All I can say is it is FANTASTIC!
Quick steam, built in vacuum makes two jobs into one and saves time. We have a dog and in this winter weather, we use the steam mop every day. floor dries instantly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Le Roy, NY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

Awesome new product

PostedDecember 31, 2013
At first I was a little skeptical about combining a steam mop with a vacuum cleaner, but after using the product for the first time, I am convinced how great of a product it is. I was able to clean my kitchen and dinette vinyl floors and the steam really helps remove many of the spots and dirt that just does not come off with a normal vacuum cleaner. Whenever I came across a little dirt, I could hit the vacuum button and suck that dirt up while I was still steam cleaning. I also have hard wood floors and tried it on that too. It worked awesome there and cleaned up spots without leaving too much wetness behind, much better than a wet mop would have done! I am impressed and love this new tool!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Missouri
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Iv ordered the whole pack including spot steamer. Iv steamed the stove, walls floors cabinets even the scentsy wax off my wall! I love! my only complaint is it's hard to push. maybe not enough wheels. I do take into consideration if it had more wheels for easy pushing, I may not be able get the gunk off my floors as fast or easy. The price is way high but I had a steam mop for five years so im hoping/ thinking this steamer mop vac with last a lot longer! Id recommend to anyone! Also buy another one for sure!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Milwaukee
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Love the idea, but really is a toy

PostedJune 1, 2014
I bought this steam mop because I thought the concept was great. But when it comes to a really dirty floor my $50 sharp does a much better job. If you have no kids or pets and mop your floors every other day this is a great machine for you.
Plus you can only buy the replacement pads from Bissell and only one fits the machine. I like to use a lot of pads but I do not want to spend $20.00 for two. I can find all their other pads at other stores much cheaper but they do not have this one.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJune 26, 2014
Diane, you can actually get the pads from several places: Walmart, Best Buy and BISSELL all offer the pads and filters.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Minneapolis,MN
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Steam Mop

PostedMarch 14, 2015
I used my steamer for the first time and I Love it
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indiana
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

BAD SMELL

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Someone please help me get rid of the horrid smell whenever I use this!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareFebruary 25, 2015
We appreciate your posting. We can help! We recommend washing the mop pads on gentle cycle with mild detergent. Air dry the mop pads. Also, it's best to use distilled water in your Symphony. You may want to try a filter, which can be ordered at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa... Another option is scented Freshening discs. They are inserted into the cleaning pad. Please see this link to view/order: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

Worked awesome for about 10 min

PostedDecember 25, 2014
I was so excited to try out my new Bissel Symphony on my wood floors. It was working great for about 10 minutes then just stopped working. I'm so disappointed and with 4 kids running around I need something that actually works! I'll be looking for something else.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer Care February 5, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We’re sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with your Symphony. Please know we’re always here for you if you’re having trouble! We do have some helpful troubleshooting steps available http://www.bissell.com/faqs/?c=318&.... If you don’t see what you need, you can always contact us and we’d be more than happy to help. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/ We want to help you get back to cleaning.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: michigan
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine
Yes, I recommend this product.

the best!!!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
OMG!!! Why didn't your company design this sooner! I now have don't have to go get my broom or vacuum, and my mop! This thing is just great!!! Plus i don' t have to worry about scratching the surface of my hardwood floors. Thanks! I'll never have anything else used on my floors again except your product!!! Once you go steam, your floors are clean!!!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: WV
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Great product my wife loves it

PostedDecember 20, 2014
it works great on our floors. Love that we don't have to sweep first.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BISSELL® Symphony™ All-in-One Vacuum and Steam Mop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: San Jose, CA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor

Horrible! Waste of money

PostedDecember 9, 2014
I bought this since we recently put in hardwood and even for minor simple pick ups it doesn't work. This picks up nothing from the floor, the steam release is connected to the handle so you can't vaccuum without steam.
The steam is also horrible. My son spilt juice so I wiped it and tried to steam to avert stickyness. This just spread the issue.
Wish I could get a refund for junk that will be in the garbage.
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MelishaConsumer Care March 13, 2015
Thank you for your review. Let us get your machine working properly with a few tips. Make sure the "vac" light is on for suction. The filters need to be clean for good airflow. Make sure they are connected properly as well as the dirt cup. You can remove the hoses to clean. Just make sure they are dry before reinstalling. They could be a clog in the floor nozzle. Please pull this off and look for any hair/debris. They Symphony should get up your sticky messes. First the 'Steam Ready" light has to stop blinking. Hold the trigger up to 2 minutes to prime. To promote the most steam set to "HI". Make sure the filter is secure to the machine, there shouldn't be any gaps.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 >>>