Customer reviews for Bissell SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner

Bissell SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner

Push a button, enjoy the clean.
Overall rating:
4.137 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(467 reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 467 reviews
5 Stars
306
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
27
1 Star
53
1 out of 1(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Smithfield, UT, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Not thrilled......Great for the first year

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Purchased this machine in December of 2013. Lasted great for about a year. Now, the tank leaks (yes, I've checked the duck gasket and its installed correctly) and the bottom has broken off at the screws from the top. Very disappointed because I loved it! Came online to look at options of purchasing a new one but finding that most of the reviews state the same issue. Might have to look at a different brand which is a shame because I really liked this machine the first year I used it. Disappointed that it worked perfectly until the warranty was done. Looks like a redesign is needed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JuanConsumer CareAugust 27, 2015
Hi Macey - that definitely should not have happened. Give us a call or send us an email we'd be happy to help with a replacement!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar

Leaks but.....

PostedAugust 12, 2015
My SpotBot Pet has leaked from day 1 but I still like it. Mine doesn't look exactly like the photos here so maybe they improved it? I love the set it and walk away feature but as in at least one video I saw I highly recommend using the hose to suck up remaining cleaning solution left behind. Mine leaks in many areas but as long as I empty any remaining cleaning solution from the tank I can store it without incident. If it wasn't for the leaking I would have given the SpotBot all 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareAugust 17, 2015
We're really happy to hear you like the Spotbot but it should not leak. Give these steps a try, they should help! http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDISSAPOINTED.........
onAugust 25, 2015
I read the reviews but a want to give a try despite the bad reviews, and now I'm so disappointed for not believe what people said about leakings........ first of all the machine is off and leaks dirty water from somewhere . I let them cleaning a spot and then I have to succion the excess water with the hose, the dirty water tank leaks when I have to empty. and last the hose breaks and all the water leaks .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Los Angeles County
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

If You Have Pets with Fur, You Need This Machine

PostedJuly 31, 2015
My son and I purchased a Bissel Spot Bot the first year it came out (back when dinosaurs still walked the Earth). We have six cats, but have had more, up to 13, and we've used this machine HUNDREDS of times if not more. There hasn't been a stain it couldn't take out, including dried on pet stains, even the time I dripped white paint while painting the trim around the doors onto my brand new carpet. It took three run-throughs, but that paint came out! Well, today that wonderful, hard-working machine finally gave up the ghost. Not to worry, because we have two more Spot Bots in the closet. My son thought that because we liked them so much, they would be discontinued, much like treasured restaurants that close and TV shows that go off the air with record high ratings...he purchased me two more that we've kept all this time. Today I brought one out. Bissel, I am so grateful for this machine. Good job on a great product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: NH
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Tried and failed spot bot

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Why can't I get a Bissell carpet cleaner to work? I have thrown away 2 upright carpet cleaners in the trash and now looks like a 3rd one. I bought the spot bot for our dog's mistakes. First the spot cleaner stopped working. The buttons do nothing. So not the complainer, we use the hand held wand. Ok, now the hose breaks at the machine connection, so we duct tape it, but that started leaking, That's it! If Bissell doesn't read this and send me a new one, I won't buy any other Bissell products... Hoover is next.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer care July 31, 2015
We appreciate your posting. We can help get your machine repaired. Your machine includes a one year warranty. Please check out the link to find a BISSELL Authorized Service Center for inspection/repair. http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Macungie, PA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Love this machine!

PostedJuly 25, 2015
I'll try to keep this short - I LOVE THIS MACHINE. Bought this to clean up after our dog threw up on our beige carpet leaving an orange stain. After some research decided to give the Spot Bot Pet a try. WOW am I glad I did! Not only did it get out the orange stain with ease it also cleaned a stain from 2 years prior when my daughter threw up. I tried everything else to get rid of the stain from her - even borrowed a large up right carpet shampooer but the stain kept coming back - until now! This tiny but mighty machine did the job! I am raving about it to co workers, friends and family.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Parkesburg, PA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

After a Fix it Works Great

PostedJuly 11, 2015
The unit as sent from Bissell had a leaking dirty water tank. the tank's sealer would not let it seat. It leaked and lost a lot of suction. After a few back and forth emails with pictures, I was sent a new tank. The unit now works properly with no more soaked carpets. If quality control hadn't missed an obvious flaw I would have given the product 5 stars.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: DFW, Tx
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Upholstery
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

I has pluses, but does stack up to little green.

PostedJuly 6, 2015
I loved my little green machine, so when it stopped working, I was devastated. My husband replaced it with this spot bot and while I liked the deep cleaning scrubber... The hose didn't clean furniture as well as the little green did, which was important to me as I have kids and pets and a huge expensive couch. First the sprayer started spraying wonky and then it got knocked over and started leaking out the bottom...so we scrapped it as a waste of money. It lasted us just over a year. We just replaced it with the proheat lift-off pet 2x expert series since our new house has carpet and I like that it can be an upright and portable...I like that machine much better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareJuly 9, 2015
Thank you for sticking with BISSELL. We do appreciate you as a valued customer. If ever in need for troubleshooting, BISSELL has a great FAQ section at this link: http://www.bissell.com/faqs/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Grand Haven, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Could not live without it!

PostedJune 28, 2015
Two dogs who have become seniors and several accidents have made me an enthusiast for this product. We would have thrown the area rugs out!
Poor reviews for leakage are truly due to not aligning the bill gasket correctly .
Portable and so easy! Love it for stairs and any spill!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: St louis
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Worked great at first, then....

PostedJune 25, 2015
I have had two of these and after about a year they break. First one kept leaking from the bottom second one stopped spraying solution and only would suck up spills. I'm never recommending this to one of my customer again and will never buy another bissell product. I didn't use it alot and spent a ton of money on it
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MelishaConsumer CareJune 29, 2015
Thank you for your posting Shannon. With your first Spotbot leaking, please make sure you still have the duck bill gasket that is located under the collection tank. This will cause a leak if damage or missing. For the no spray, it’s good to check the suction nozzles by unscrewing the 2 screws. Clean the spray tip on the rotating brush area with an old tooth brush. This will help clean any clogs preventing the spray. Replace both thanks on the machine and pump the manual trigger to prime. Then turn the power on for 30 seconds with the trigger depressed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ohio
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Durability issues

PostedJune 25, 2015
Despite only 3-4 uses, the machine stopped drawing solution from the clean tank despite all troubleshooting steps. This is surprising for a machine that is practically new. Our option given was to repair the machine. How disappointing.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MelishaConsumer CareJune 29, 2015
Ming we appreciate your posting. We're sorry the troubleshooting steps didn't help. We see you did troubleshoot with us. With your machine being a couple years old we would have to refer you to a BISSELL Authorized Service Center.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fairland, IN, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Disappointing!!

PostedJune 6, 2015
The SpotBot Pet Cleaner has possibilities, but falls short of my expectations. It cleans well on plush carpet, but does not do well on berber or sculpted carpet. It does not clean thoroughly in the carpet grooves and does not evacuate the water very well. The area cleaned is so wet you need to use the brush tool to suck up the excess water.
After two months, my machine started leaking. It turned out to be the cap on the fresh water tank. I replaced this. Then, after having the machine for 10 months it started leaking again and the plastic adapter hooking the hose to the machine broke apart into several pieces. I have had the machine for less than a year and it is completely unusable! I love Bissell's products, but this has been a very bad experience (and product). I would not recommend this product to any of my friends.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MaryConsumer Care June 9, 2015
We appreciate your review and are very sorry for all of your trouble. You do have a warranty with your machine and would like to help with warranty coverage. Please click at the link to proceed. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fayetteville, GA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Started to leak

PostedMay 31, 2015
I am on my second SpotBot. The first one leaked when I got it. Now the second one which was working great is leaking all over the floor where it sits when not in use. There is obviously a problem that Bissell cannot or will not fix. I would like Bissell to send me a replacement machine since I am disabled and it is hard for me to go out and keep going to Lowes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy PeterConsumer CareJune 4, 2015
Thank you for your posting. We're very sorry for the leak. Please remove the collection tank to check the duck bill gasket. If this is missing or improperly installed your machine would leak. Make sure the "bill" is inserted in the widest end of the tank. If your machine still is leaking, you do have a one year warranty with BISSELL. Please click at the link for warranty coverage. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Simpsonville, SC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Just didn't last

PostedMay 30, 2015
Got several cracks in the hose and wasn't suctioning. It was always leaking dirty water out of the bottom too. Quality just isn't the best. I have owned 4 Bissell spot cleaners over the years and they last about a year. And I clean it every time and take great care too. They just don't last for one reason or another. It's always after the warranty is expired too. Problem is they are the only spot cleaner in town so there aren't other products to choose from!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy RitaConsumer Care June 4, 2015
Thanks for your review Christine. We're sorry for your disappointment. Please check the duck bill gasket that should be under the collection tank. If this is missing your machine would leak. Also, the gasket needs to be installed properly. The "bill" should be in the widest end of the collection tank.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indianapolis, IN
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

This product is amazing

PostedMay 7, 2015
I am so pleased with my SpotBot. I just pushed a button and went on with other chores. In a matter of minutes the spot was removed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Westfield, MA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Piece of junk!

PostedMay 1, 2015
I have had two portables before this one. Had the original green machine about 10 yrs. and a maroon one for 10 to 12 yrs. these were live saving machines with small children and dogs. Three years ago, my daughters bought this model because my sprayer on the last machine stopped working. I didn't want this machine. I thought the brush was not necessary. Well, leaking started and then no suction. My daughter also has this one and hers is doing the same thing. Piece of junk! I've now bought the Spotclean Proheat for her and myself. So light weight and less complicated. A lot cheaper as well. Don't spend money on a brush machine that won't last.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MarieConsumer CareMay 5, 2015
We appreciate your review. I'm really sorry for your trouble. With your Spotbot leaking it could just be the duck bill gasket that is under your collection tank. Make sure this isn't missing and is properly installed. We have some great photos of this gasket at this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byElectrician 216
onMay 18, 2015
I have been Bissell user for 25 years, but I agree with the Domestic Goddess! I've had the similar problems with the same units, in addition on the SpotBot of return tank hose braking and the slurry spilling on the motor! Great safety 120volts at 2.5 amps when 0.02 amps can kill you!!
It seems that the GREEN LINE of UNITS have a lot of growing pains and the last 10 years have been the worst.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cape Cod, MA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

AWESOME CLEANING POWER

PostedApril 25, 2015
I bought this machine when I got my Black Lab puppy last October. It has saved me and my rugs on several occasions. Twice, my puppy had diarrhea all over my bedroom rugs and not only did the Spotbot remove the stains but also removed all odors. As other reviewers have commented, the machine can leave a visible ring, but I found this only to be the case once when I accidentally stopped the machine instead of pausing it and had to start over again, thereby doing the spot twice. As for wetness on the rug, it quickly picks up with a paper towel if needed. Most of the time it doesn't. This machine is a must-have for any dog owner!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Concordia, MO 64020, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Top broke off

PostedApril 8, 2015
I've read a number of reviews that have this same problem. Where the screws hold the top to the bottom have cracked & won't stay together. My machine is useless now. I've always bought Bissell products in the past because of their quality & durability but I wouldn't recommend this machine.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy MelishaConsumer CareApril 10, 2015
We appreciate your review. No worries, we can get you back to cleaning in no time. We will be happy to extend your warranty. To proceed please click at the link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bycleansweep
onApril 28, 2015
i had the same probleb took the screws out put washers under the screws and screwed them in worked great just a fyi hope it works for you
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houston, Tx
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

i would definitely recommend to a pet owner

PostedMarch 25, 2015
I was skeptical, but also interested to see the spotbot in action. I must say that it passed my tests with flying colors! Very easy to use, I mean if you can push a button... You can use the spotbot. Did my pet spots come clean? YES! I mean brand new carpet clean! My only problem was having to use the hose attachment to "blend" the clean areas in. Thanks Bissell... Now I need a whole room cleaner, after exposing the dingy color my carpet has become!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: San Diego, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Removed Old and New Pet and Kid Stains!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Right after we moved into our new home, about 6 months ago, one of our Beagles had three separate accidents on our brand new carpet. The bottle cleaners from the store didn’t work at all and we had 3 ugly dark stains on our light colored carpet. We started looking for an area rug to cover the stains because we figured nothing would get them out. Then our 7 year old son had the stomach flu and got sick in his bedroom and a spot in the hallway, again on our brand new carpet. That’s when I started to research these types of cleaners. I came across this Spotbot Pet Cleaner and decided to give it a try. It saved our brand new carpet! I did have to run the deep clean cycle twice on the older pet urine stains but you can’t see them at all now. And one run of the deep clean cycle over my son’s vomit stains took them right out. I did use the oxygen boost with the cleaner and each tank did 3 of the set in stain setting or 6 of the surface stain setting. It did leave the carpet pretty wet, as some of the other reviewers have mentioned. So I used the manual hose setting to soak up some of the extra moisture the cleaner left. The carpet was dry in an hour. I highly recommend this Spotbot Pet Cleaner for both new and old stains.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Plymouth charter Township, MI, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

SpotBot® Pet Deep Cleaner

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Love this machine! Perfect for cleaning up my dogs accidents. I would recommend this to anyone who owns animals it's the fastest, cleanest, easiest way to remove pet stains and odor and really does the job, cleans so much better than I could by hand and removes all traces of the mess, I never have to touch the problem the machine does it for me in a completely clean and sanitary way! Thanks for saving my carpets Bissell!
I would buy this again! Great product!!! A+++++
 
Other Products I Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 >>>