Customer reviews for Bissell SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner

Bissell SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner

Push a button, enjoy the clean.
Overall rating:
4.088 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(488 reviews) 488
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 488 reviews
5 Stars
313
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
29
1 Star
60
1 out of 1(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Punta Gorda, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Upholstery
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Leaks

PostedJanuary 23, 2016
Have used this machine 3x and was satisfied. It sat for about 6 months 6 months since my last use. Pulled it out the other day and am very disappointed that it now leaks from under the motor compartment. It does not spray from below nor does it spray from the handle. I've used Bissell products for 30+ years starting with the Green Machine. Loved them all until now. What a waste of money. The quality just isn't there. I may go back to the Green Machine but am questing the quality of Bissell products. Checking on alternatives.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy NikkiConsumer CareJanuary 27, 2016
Oh no, sorry to hear this Sharon! Have you have a chance to troubleshoot the machine at all? Here's a link with a few steps that should help: http://www.bissell.com/support/help...

If these steps do not solve the issue please give us a call, 1-800-237-7691!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cleveland, oh
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Don't waste your money unless you like soaking wet carpet

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
We had a spot bot for several years and it worked great for pet accidents and other messes. Finally broke so we had no hesitation in ordering another one through an online retailer. Threw box away, did not expect problems. It left our carpet soaking wet! And we couldn't return it. Figured it had gotten damaged during shipping. Tossed it and ordered one to be picked up at a local store so we could return it if needed. Same thing happened. Left the carpet soaked. We've used one for years we know how it is supposed to work, or at least how it used to work. Brought it back to the store and are now looking for other options. I miss our old spot bot.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Somerset, PA 15501, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Very disappointed with this product

PostedJanuary 6, 2016
this product broke less than 30 days after the warranty expired~~go figure! The 4 main screws that hold the cabinet parts together broke at the plastic bosses. My husband who is a retired engineer and designed many plastic parts similar to this, said the "plastic bosses that hold the screws are completely inadequate to hold up under the stress of the motor" and should have been redesigned by now. We still think Bissell still makes fine products but we will look at the reviews before buying any more. This product has a poor review history.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy RickConsumer CareJanuary 15, 2016
Oh no! That definitely should not have happened. We'd like to follow up and see if we're able to assist with a replacement machine. Please expect a call soon!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJaymie
onJanuary 18, 2016
The very same thing happen to my machine the 4 screws broke away from the machine .This made it unable to carry by handle .Also the suction broke .I called customers service sending me label to cut cord and return then the said they will be shipping out new machine . I am waiting for email now keep you posted
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Colorado
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Great product, except...hose attachment isn't durable

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Purchased this back in April of 2014.
Worked great up until the summer of 2015, when the hose started leaking where the flexible attachment meets the main unit. Replaced the hose, same problem occurred immediately.
This has nothing to do with the cap at the base of the solution tank, as Bissell's customer service has suggested on many of these reviews. The hose actually cracks and slightly disconnects from the main unit, which causes the leaks.
Need to improve design of hose unit for more durability. Otherwise this unit is only good for approx. 1yr of use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Columbia, MD, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Great Cleaner

PostedDecember 27, 2015
This cleaner did a great job on my carpet. I have an old cat and she has made some wet spots on the carpet. The booster does whiten so you may have supper clean spots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New Jersey, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Great Carpet Cleaner

PostedDecember 20, 2015
Exceptional cleaning capabilities. But, hose design does not allow you to work w/o twisting or forcing to be level. Also, this twisting has finally broken the hose and must be replaced. Finally, the supply container leaks when not in use and must be stored separately. Either poor engineering or manufacturing. Although I recommend this product for its cleaning capabilities, Bissel should resolve these problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: DC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Great!

PostedDecember 12, 2015
I have used the Spotbot twice so far for set in stains from cat (throw up) and it has worked wonderfully. The stains are completely gone. Easy to use, easy to setup. It needs to be refilled often if you are using it on multiple stains but other than that no problems, so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Michigan, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Not worth the money

PostedDecember 6, 2015
Very disappointed in this machine. This is my 4th one and keep having the same issues with it. Had 3 replaced under warranty as it kept coming apart where the screws hold it together, and the last one Bissell replaced as it did the same thing right after the warranty was off. Now the replacement is leaking water everywhere nothing will come out when using the hand tool. Sucks water up but none comes out, but leaks water from the machine itself. Used it approximately 6 times, off warranty in May. Go figure. Nothing but problems with this machine. Daughter also has full size carpet cleaner and has issues with hers.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Huntington, IN
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Soaking wet carpet after clean up.

PostedDecember 3, 2015
I got the spotbot 6 months ago and loved it the first couple of times I used it. I have a small dog and he has accidents from time to time so it was perfect for that. But now when I use it my carpet it literally soaking wet and won't dry for a few days. I am now very disappointed in my Spotbot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Inman, SC 29349, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

I'm Very Disappointed. My Carpet Is Soaking Wet!

PostedNovember 23, 2015
I'm very disappointed!
I thought the SpotBot Pet Carpet Cleaner would be perfect for use since my husband has sever back problems and can no longer clean our carpet on a regular basis and we have a cat and dog. WRONG! WRONG! WRONG! I purchased the SpotBot last week and tried it this past weekend for the first time on a spot where our elderly dog had an "accident" a few weeks ago.
I vacuumed the carpet, read the SpotBot directions, filled up the container as directed, set up the machine and started the process. After the machine finished, I picked it up and there was a soaking wet ring on my carpet. I re-read the directions, placed the machine in another area and began the process again and what did I get - a second soaking ring.
I turned on our fireplace and placed a fan near the rings to try to dry the carpet but the following morning the rings are still damp.
I had my husband read the directions and try the SpotBot on an old rug and the results were the same for him so that tells me the problem isn't with me but with the machine.
I hope Bissell finds the problem and corrects it because this could be a nice machine and is a great concept for animal owners.
I had planned to purchase 2 additional SpotBots as Christmas gifts for my daughters but will not do so due to the poor performance of this machine.
The nearest Bissell service center is over 100 miles away from my home so I guess I'm stuck with this broken machine because I can't afford to drive 200 miles roundtrip to get it fixed.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareDecember 3, 2015
We're so sorry to hear this happened, MimiB! Please let us know if the replacement unit works well or if you still have trouble with suction once you receive it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Bottom is leaking (Model 33N8)

PostedNovember 11, 2015
I received the unit for B-day after seeing the display at Target and I was excited. The first time I used the results were awesome. It has cleaned up a few coffee stains and the carpet looks decent. After 7 used, the unit started to leak at the bottom and not sure why. If anyone here have a solution to this, please post your comments. Otherwise, I'm looking to purchase another unit that is compact in size and similar to the Bissell for cleaning up minor stains around the house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareNovember 18, 2015
We can help! Here's a link with a few steps to check that should fix the leaking issue. http://www.bissell.com/support/help...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Texas, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Love, love, love

PostedNovember 8, 2015
Can you tell I love it? I've only had it abt a month but have used it quite a bit. My mother works in a restaurant and comes home with black soles (and, yes, they mop, the floor); my nephews have animals, ( chickens, coon dogs, house dogs, pigeons, goats and mules). I don't know what they track in (although I can guess). I have a doormat outside and inside, they are pretty good about taking off their shoes, but I still see brownish/ black stains after they leave. The Spotbot works great to get up these stains. It has gotten up stains that my carpet guy couldn't get out.
I do wish the suction worked better. The floor is really wet when it is done. I soak up some with a towel and set up a fan. However, the trade off, a clean carpet, is worth it for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: AZ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Not well built to last

PostedNovember 1, 2015
Tank leaks, hoses leak not built for repeat use. Hope the upright works better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JuanConsumer CareNovember 4, 2015
Oh no! That definitely should not be happening. Please contact us, we can help! http://www.bissell.com/support/cont...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Nebraska
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

My Spot Bot, Great Product!!

PostedOctober 26, 2015
I recently purchased a Spot Bot, love it. Lightweight, deep cleans & scrub's unattended, removes ground in old stains of all kinds. Works better than my big cleaner, great for small spaces. Will be using it all the time. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Milton, NH
Age:55 to 64
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

Don't waste your money - I'm serious

PostedOctober 20, 2015
I used my new SpotBot today for the very first time and tonight I will return it. It put out a fair amount of solution onto the carpet, but never removed one drop. Not kidding, there was no water in the waste water reservoir when the machine shut off. But, I did have a big wet spot on my carpet. Then I took out my Rainbow vacuum and proceeded to dry my carpet. I guess I don't need the convenience of a SpotBot because it really was not very convenient at all.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy LisaConsumer CareOctober 22, 2015
Sorry to hear this, Judi! We have a few steps you can try that should return suction to the machine. Check it out here: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Pro and Con....

PostedOctober 18, 2015
I love the ease, size and results of the unit, but when I leave some cleaning solution/water in the unit between uses, it leaks out and leaves a mess in the closet.
I would think it should not do this, it is only a couple months old.
I have never had a carpet cleaner that didn't seal properly, especially when not in use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy RickConsumer CareOctober 22, 2015
Oh no - That's not good! Check out this link, it has a few things to check to prevent your SpotBot from leaking. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.as...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Carrollton, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

SpotBot Pet Knows ALL the Tricks!!

PostedOctober 6, 2015
I have an elderly dog who has had trouble controlling her "issues" on the carpets. I had an upright carpet cleaner, but it was way too heavy for me to carry up and down stairs.
Enter SpotBot Pet! My carpets look and smell like NEW!! BOTH upstairs and downstairs!!
SpotBot Pet -- Affordable / User Friendly / Effective -- Those are pretty good tricks for a little machine!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byjackers
onDecember 3, 2015
Very disappointed in this machine. This is my 4th one and keep having the same issues with it. Had 3 replaced under warranty as it kept coming apart where the screws hold it together, and the last one Bissell replaced as it did the same thing right after the warranty was off. Now the replacement is leaking water everywhere nothing will come out when using the hand tool. Sucks water up but none comes out, but leaks water from the machine itself. Nothing but problems with this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Albany, Ca.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

SpotBot Pet Carpet Cleaner

PostedSeptember 16, 2015
I had previously purchased the other spot Bot that is least expensive. Now I know why. This one does what it says you can sit it on a spot and walk away and it will do the work for you. It is a much better machine than the other. This hose is easy to work with and it is not laying on the machine and create problems with getting it caught and then you have a hose leak. I can't believe that this machine does it so well.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: California
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

I'm returning this product

PostedSeptember 4, 2015
SpotBot Pet left my carpet wet. Not damp, but wet. This is my first Bissell product and it will be my last. Don't waste your money!!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SpotBot ® Pet Carpet Cleaner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Charleston, IL, USA
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Spot Bot vs. JRT

PostedSeptember 4, 2015
At first I loved my spot bot!!! I have 5 dogs, 3 of which are JRT's and one of those JRT's is kind of special. As in his nickname is short bus and face planting into walls is a full time pursuit. Oh and he pees on everything. Sometimes they make messes. Ok they make a lot of messes, but hey what an opportunity to try out the Spot Bot! For the first few months the spot bot was going to town, working great, I loved it. LOVED IT. Then disaster hit. The "special" JRT, named Archie fell deeply in love with the spot bot. Every time I took the spot bot out, he would be eyeballing it with a certain lecherous look. Then he started creeping closer until one day I heard this horrible noise. Somewhere between a screeh and a yodel. As I raced into the living room, Archie had the spot bot on its side, totally defenseless and was attempting to make love to the poor helpless spot bot. His "junk" was being "cleaned" in a truly deviant manner. #I'm still in therapy after witnessing this event# I separated the two would be lotharios and gave Archie a firm talking to and proceeded to ground him after explaining the futility of such a doomed relationship. All to no avail. Archie began to pursue the spot bot at all hours of the day and I would often come home to find the spot bot and Archie smoking cigarettes in the bathroom. The spot bot could no longer be used when Archie was in the house, because as soon as I plugged it in and pressed the deep seated stain button, Archie would latch onto the spot bot like a hot house hooker and proceed to shove the spot bot all around the room. It was beyond embarrassing. I then took drastic measures and locked the spot bot in a closet and bought Archie a subscription to Jack Bunny. This seemed to help. Then last month I noticed that the spot bot was mysteriously loosing all cleaning fluid, yet very little was going into the dirty water bin. Hmmmm.....so I filled the spot bot and all the fluid drained out right before my eyes!! Yet it wasn't on the floor and I could find no sign of it whats so ever. I had to conclude the spot bot had sprung a leak, likely as a result of the repeated assaults from the JRT. I shall be attempting to have our beloved spot bot repaired. I would like to suggest that the limited warranty, such as it is, be extended to cover amorous JRT's.
Best Wishes,
Flummoxed in Illinois
+42points
46of 50voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy NikkiConsumer CareSeptember 18, 2015
At BISSELL, we all love our SpotBot but not quite as much as your Jack Russell Terrier. Hopefully the magazine subscription does the trick. Check your email, we'd like to help with your unit!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer avatar
Posted byPet Lover from CA
onNovember 28, 2015
Leave it to a Jack Russell to come up with something so out of the box. The picture in my mind was priceless! Hope both your JRT and Spot Bot are doing well.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byBruceLake
onSeptember 21, 2015
Spot On, Bissell, Spot On! Now that is great customer service!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bynvr2amzd
onSeptember 18, 2015
I am crying while laughing over your terrific review! It made me love my Spotbot all the more...but not NEARLY as much as your JRT does!! I know Bissell also love your review and will surely help you with your leaking Spotbot...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bygolden lover
onSeptember 5, 2015
A very helpful review!! Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byLikeminded
onSeptember 4, 2015
OMG! I have no words! Hope the therapy bills for the JTR don't take you broke.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (5)
Read comments (5)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 >>>