Customer reviews for Bissell Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at BISSELL.

Bissell Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum

Powerful suction, rotating floor brush and unique pet tools to clean up pet hair
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
Customer reviews for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Waterford Township, MI, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Love this vacuum and great customer service with issues.

PostedDecember 3, 2012
I love the suction and versatility I have with this vacuum. I have a dog and different flooring services throughout my home. With all the helpful attachments I get the job done quickly and my home feels and looks great.
I use my vacuum on a daily basis and have had only two problems with it in the two years I have owned it.
First the latch to close the door broke. It was still under warranty so I called and was sent a new latch right away.
Second the power head was turning on and off while using it. It turned out to be a bad circuit board in the handle. I bought the extended warranty and was given immediate help in getting it fixed at a local repair shop.
I have not experienced any of the issues other reviews have listed but if I do it only takes a phone call to get them handled.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: NJ
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

This little vacuum has great power but........................

PostedOctober 5, 2012
I do love the power this convient vacuum has but just 2 things are something to think about.
1. The hose is very stiff making it difficult to manover.
2. The latch for the vacumm bag doesn't latch anymore. This vacumm is only about 6months old. Funny thing is my neighbor has the same vacuum with the exact problem.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareOctober 8, 2012
Thanks for the review. The dirt bag may get too full and pushing the door closed may cause the latch to break. There is a trigger internally when the dirt bag is full that will not allow the door to close. Full dirt bags can cause the latch to break because when the debris door is forced closed is causes the latch to snap. Contact us and we can replace the latch for you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bybagless bag lady
onNovember 19, 2012
I don't have a problem with the vacume itself but have been very dissapointed that since i used up the bags that came with it at time of purchase, I have not been able to use it!!!! I travel all over with my work and have not been able to find bags for it anywhere!!!! therefore it is usless and for me a complete wast of money! it infuriates me that i bought this at a walmart and not one walmart ive been to carries bags for it! I've been searching for over a year now and I desperately need some...It is practicly brand new and I can't even use it!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Quick & Easy

Not too bad.....for the price!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
I am, for the most part, happy with the vacuum cleaner. It is nearly impossible to find canister vacuums anymore. Why? I don't know. I had to return the vacuum to Walmart after 28 days because when I went to check the bag, the clip that opens the bag compartment broke off in my hand. I am hoping not to run into the problems your other reviewers have complained about. But, let's face it, GOOD vacuum cleaners are EXPENSIVE! For the cost of this product, if I get two years out of it, I will be happy. The tool bag, however, is worthless.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareAugust 27, 2012
Thanks for the feedback Gracie. Just a note to any other owners of this unit, there is a trigger internally and when the dirt bag is full it will not allow the door to close.

Please don't force the debris door shut if it is full. We can send a new latch to you if needed, just contact our Consumer Care at this link:
http://www.bissell.com/email-us/ I hope this helps.
Review 4 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: westview, ky
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

where can i find bags?

PostedAugust 15, 2012
I'm happy with the performance of this vacuum. The pet attachments are great. My biggest problem is that I can't buy bags at the same store where I purchased the vacuum. Why doen,t walmart carry these bags, if not in store, at least online?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareAugust 20, 2012
Ang, we wish our retailers would sell the parts, but because they haven't started to yet you can order the bags at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...
Review 5 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Reno, NV, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Poor quality shuts off constantly

PostedJuly 20, 2012
This product is probably the worst vacuum I have ever purchased. In less than 1 years time the vacuum shuts off and won't turn back on. I can't even get through vacuuming one room. Don't waste your money on this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJuly 24, 2012
Thanks for your review. We still suggest taking your machine to one of our BISSELL Authorized Service Centers as you have told us your machine is under 1 year old. Any manufacturing issues will be fixed for you at no charge if this is the case. Here is a link to find the nearest Service Center http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Review 6 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Reno, NV, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Unreliable

PostedJuly 19, 2012
This has to be the worst vacuum I have ever owned. I was VERY careful in how I treated it, hoping it would last me a long time. Only had it a few months when it started shutting off on me. The vacuum now might stay running to get me through half a room before it shuts off. Customer service nonexistent. Don't waste your money here!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJuly 30, 2012
Thanks for informing us of your issues. It looks like one of our reps contacted you via email. We suggest that you take your vacuum to the nearest BISSELL Authorized Service Center for inspection. You can locate one at this link: http://www.bissell.com/service-cent...
Review 7 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Texas
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs

GOOD SUCTION BUT TERRIBLE WORKMANSHIP!!!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
I do love the suction on this vacuum cleaner but pieces keep breaking!!! The extention wand does not lock, making the handle slide back and forth. The little button that locks the metal hose connection to the extension broke off and NOW the on/off button will not work. I have to keep working with it to get it to come on!!! I have always loved Bissell products but after this vacuum I plan on warning friends and family not to purchase these products!!!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJuly 17, 2012
I'm sorry about the issues you both have had. We are always willing to help get your machine running especially when issues happen prematurely. Here is a list of parts for this unit: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=91...

Also, please feel free to contact us by phone or email at
http://www.bissell.com/customer-sup...
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCat Man in San Diego
onJuly 12, 2012
I had the same issue with the wand / connection breaking with parts flying all over. I did contact customer service in Michigan and she sent me a new wand. Being a design Engineer myself, I think it is time to do failure analysis.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Yakima, WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor

Great little machine, but...........

PostedJune 19, 2012
I've had my Powergroom Pet Canister for a few months now. I find the suction on it to be awesome and have found the extra attachments to be quite helpful. The Wide Pet TurboBrush has been a lifesaver when vacuuming my stairs and furniture. It's very lightweight and easy to use. That being said.... Unfortunately, I can only rate it 3 stars for the one fact that the Telescoping Extension Wand keeps collapsing everytime I try to vacumm. This makes vacuuming very hard as I find myself hunched over when ever I put the slightest amount of pressure on it. If it weren't for that, which is a big deal as vacuuming is the main thing I use the canister for I would easily give it 5 stars.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJune 25, 2012
Thanks for the review. It sounds like the locking mechanism for the extension wand may be broken. Please contact us by phone or email at http://www.bissell.com/customer-sup... to get a new extension wand.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bygrandmamoses
onFebruary 19, 2013
OK, hate uprights. Found this vac and the more I use it, the more I think they had genius designers, or maybe women working on it. I love the ability to pull it up the stairs, the fact I can lift it, the tools, and the fact it has a bag. The suction is great, the fact that I can turn the brush off on the floor attachment, and not have to change it to do hard floors is great. I can do the vacuuming in less time. The only hard thing for me-I have arthritis and have problems with my hands, is that I have a hard time taking the hose part for attachments off the floor attachment. I have to push the catch and lift at the same time. Takes me some effort. All in all I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Yakima, WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor

Frustrated!

PostedJune 17, 2012
I love the suction and all the extas I got with my canister, but I can not get the telescoping extention wand to stay extended! Everytime I try to use it, if I put the slightest amount of pressure on the wand it lowers and I end up trying to vacuum stooped over. Very frustrating!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJune 21, 2012
It should easily lock into place when extended. It sounds like the lock may have broken. Please call our Consumer Care line at (800)237-7691 M-F 8a-10p, Sat 9a-8p EST and a rep will help you out.
Review 10 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Glendale, AZ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Wood Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

Not terribly impressed!

PostedJune 4, 2012
I bought my vacuum about 3-4 months ago. I like that the main head is flat enough that it goes under the furniture. However the hose is too short and it's a workout to change to interchange the tools. Besides the silly "tool bag" is worthless!
While the machine gets the job done, the most frustrating part has been the not being able to find replacement bags readily available(in store). Most retailers have to order them(i can do that myself). Not even the place where I bought the vacuum carries the particular type of bag needed. Had I known that part of the equation prior to purchasing the machine, I would have gone with something else! Very inconvenient.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareJune 7, 2012
Thanks for the review Z-mami. Here is a quick link to order the bags for this unit http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=pa...

We also wish more retailers carried our parts for your convenience. Thanks.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byConnie
onJuly 4, 2012
I bought this vacuum less than two months ago. I thought it was fine but the individuals who were using it did not. Next week I have another chance to try it out again and I will keep you posted about it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Vancouver, WA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

...not disappointed, but also not overwhelmed.

PostedMay 13, 2012
Like the multiple opptions of pet grooming, tools and accessories to choose from, retractable cord feature and the canister unit seems very rugged. At first I was very hesitant to give up my bagless vacuum. I was very please on how well this pet vacuum filtered the air and not leaving any smells and I was amazed how much a bag will hold and changing the bag was so easy and I didn't have to hold my breath when tossing it into the garbage or shake out a filthy filter. I did find that the main power head didn't work that great on thicker carpets removing pet hair had to go over it multiple times, hose is too short and height level was lil hard to read. Oh one more thing the tool bag is a joke.... I mean come on what the heck.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareMay 16, 2012
Thanks for all of your feedback on this unit. To use the variable height adjustments step on the brush height adjuster located on the right side of the motorized powerhead to adjust for flooring type (lowest setting (1)for non-carpet, indoor areas, highest setting (6) for plush pile carpet). Just make sure you are on the 6 for thicker carpet you mentioned.
Review 12 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Creston, CA 93432, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Multi-Surface

This product has some good features

PostedApril 7, 2012
I have had my new canister for 3 wks. I don't like it.
I have mostly hardwood floor now so I thought a Canister vacuum would be ez to use instead of a upright. But I was wrong. The hose is very stiff and is to short. When running the bare floor tools they make scatching sounds. The bare floor tools really didn't pickup the dog hair very well. I have two dogs one long hair & one short. It picked up the long hair but not the short hair very well. I had to go back over the floors with the crevices tool to pickup it up.
 
Other Products I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from BISSELLBy JoeConsumer CareApril 10, 2012
Thanks for the review Donna63. I've never heard of the problems you are experiencing, but I do have a similar unit that I use on bare floors. You may want to make sure that your height setting is set to the appropriate height. Any short hair along baseboards that are missed would need to be vacuumed with the crevice tool as the unit doesn't have edge cleaning technology like our new Total Floors Pet vacuum has http://www.bissell.com/total-floors...
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCW6911
onAugust 13, 2012
We have seven birds, all like to spread their seed. Have found the suction easy to adjust. I do wish it had a longer tube to use with the crevice tool. At this time we like it for what we use it for. In time if it get to be a problem then I will rethink this survey.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Inverness florida
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:2-in-1 Machine

Now I need to buy me one!!!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
I bought this for my daughter.I am a bit of a freak...I love to clean. After bringing the machine to my daughters house..of course I had to take it for a spin....I got goose bumps, Not only does it have MANY different attachments, it also sports an adjustment on the suction. Oh so cool!!! Light and easy to use, now I have to go out and buy myself one as a spare...told you I am a freak..can't be without a vacum! God bless America
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Jackson, LA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Upholstery
Cleaning Need:Deep Down Clean

Works Like A Charm

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Being older I wanted to replace my very heavy and tired canister vacuum. The new Powergroom is easy to move around and has a suction found in brands costing much more. It works well on bare floors, carpets, upholstery, and does get cat hair wherever it lurks. The attachments are useful and made my recliner look like new. You don't have to break the bank to own this vacuum cleaner.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Hard Floor
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Powergroom Pet Canister Vacuum Cleans Cat's House

PostedMarch 2, 2012
We have a building devoted to housing 20 cats. Although it does not have a carpeted floor, it does have carpeted cat poles and window perches. All of those cats shed and mere sweeping just stirs up a big fur ball. I love the unique pet tools, especially the small beater brush that is purrfect for vacuuming the window perches and carpeted cat poles. I also love the telescoping attachment to attach the floor brush. The vacuum is not overly noisy. I have a few cats that welcom being vacuumed with the upholstery attachment. My only complaint is that I cannot control the on/off switch from the handle. If I am vacuuming a tall cat pole or perch, and need to shut off the machine, I must turn it off at the cannister.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: CLINTON
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Surface Type:Carpets & Rugs
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

EXCELLENT ALL AROUND HOME CLEANING MACHINE.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
EXCELLENT AND EASY TO USE. IT HAS SURPASSED ALL OF MY EXPECTATIONS AT A GREAT PRICE
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Washington State
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Upholstery
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Works for PETS

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
This vacuum was purchased to keep up with the mess of 3 cats and a parrot. The rubber hair remover works well on my plush couch and the vacuum is great at sucking up feathers on hardwood floors. I have a separate vacuum I use for general housekeeping, but this one is for the pets and it has done an excellent job.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Powergroom® Pet Canister Vacuum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Richmond, Illinois
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Surface Type:Upholstery
Cleaning Need:Pet Clean Up

Another great product from Bissell

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Awesome vacume, very powerful!! I have an English Setter and the pet tools work great on removing pet hair from the furniture. Well worth the money, you won't be dissappointed
EP
Richmond, Illinois
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byBasset hound mom
onJune 26, 2012
This vaccuum is great. I can get all the dog hair up and I get into all the little places down low and up high, but I cannot get the bag changed properly!!!!! I am careful to remove it the same way, so I know how the clean one goes on, I have also used the instructions to make sure I buy the correct bags and to see HOW the new bag is attached. It almost brought me to tears (and I almost threw it out the door). The cardboard around the bag and canister hole NEVER lines up right. I have to bend the cardboard and try time and time again attaching the bag different ways and different directions, assuming that either the directions or bag type is wrong. It's a square bag and there aren't many made that way!!! I know I checked the bag type 3 times and they say this is the one I am supposed to use. It certainly cannot be right though. Instead I have resorted to taping the bag in place and taping the machine closed until I can get it to my local vaccumm cleaner repair place to have them attach the bag so I don't have to resort to tape or screaming frustration anymore. I am mad that I will incurr some expense for this. I have owned it since Oct, '11 and have tried and failed to change the bag 3 times. :(
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)